Question about processors in new Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mstrswrd06, Mar 6, 2008.

  1. mstrswrd06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #1
    So the new Mac Pro offers dual quadcore Xeons, which is awesome. I just ordered my Mac Pro and only opted to get the single quadcore. Does anybody know if I can upgrade to dual quadcores later or am I stuck with my decision?

    In other words, does the motherboard have two sockets on it with one empty or are they just trying to get rid of old merchandise?
     
  2. johny5 macrumors 6502a

    johny5

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Yes the board does have 2 sockets the same but no one is sure yet if the second cpu will be available as an upgrade at a later date.

    Chances are it will be.
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Chances are it won't be, at least no from Apple.
     
  4. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #4
    any photographic proof of the single quadcore logicboard?

    its kind of hearsay with the single quad having two cpu spots some say yes some say no.


    :confused:
     
  5. greenmeanie macrumors 6502a

    greenmeanie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Location:
    AmigaWarez
    #5
    I talked to a lady from Apple she said I could upgrade later.
    But we know Apple has lied before so who knows?

     
  6. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #6
    the pictures we've seen posted here show that there is a second hole, but nobody seems to know whether there's a socket on there or just a hole.

    the other issue is the heat sink, i've heard people suggest that you could probably get a hold of the correct one if you know a certified repairman that'll hook you up.
     

Share This Page