Question about quickpwn & pwnagetool on 3g

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by harryhood, Nov 23, 2008.

  1. harryhood macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    #1
    I know there is a billion threads about this stuff I just keep finding really specific answers not related to what I can figure out.

    I have:

    iPhone 3G w/ 2.2 firmware updated through itunes - phone is legitimate through at&t

    I want to jailbreak now. I don't understand what this baseband/soft unlock whatever.. I just want to jailbreak and not f my stuff up. So which one should I use.. pwnage or quickpwn? Once i use one i just follow the onscreen instructions and everything is cool? Any tips? Thanks - help is appreciated. I just want to make sure I do it right!
     
  2. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #2
    Unlocking allows you to use any SIM card in the iPhone, not just the network you originally bought it on. There isn't an unlock for the 3G yet, but the hackers say that upgrading your baseband may reduce your chances of being able to unlock it in the future (I'm sure it will eventually be done for the upgraded baseband, but it might not be possible with the first unlock release)

    2.2 contains an upgrade to the baseband. In order to upgrade to 2.2 without upgrading the baseband, you need to upgrade using a Pwned version of 2.2. QuickPwn will contain the upgraded baseband.

    Since you already updated to 2.2, you already upgraded your baseband, and thus it doesn't matter whether you use QuickPwn or Pwnage. I would say QuickPwn just cause it's worked well for me, and is faster/more painless.
     
  3. harryhood thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    #3
    sweet. all i needed to know. thanks for the info. i actually just tried jailbreaking with quickpwn and followed all instructions perfectly and it just got stuck on the apple logo.. So im restoring it and trying again I guess :0.

    Once jailbroken and everything is all straight, how can i get all my old information (contacts, apps, etc) onto my jailboken phone? Do i just hit restore from old back-up after jailbroking is through? Thanks for the help!
     
  4. enophi1 macrumors 6502a

    enophi1

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Thanks Harry! you and I seem to be on the same path and in the same place!

    I wondered this too seeing as I already upgraded to 2.2 before jailbreaking

    I was worried about the baseband but alas no worries needed now :)

    Onto Quickpwn!!!!
     
  5. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #5
    if you restored the phone to try the jailbreak again, then yeah, restore from your latest backup.
     
  6. harryhood thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    #6
    awesome. it all works now. thanks for your help mank.
     

Share This Page