Question about RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by outsidethelines, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. outsidethelines macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #1
    I have had my new Macbook Pro for about two weeks now. I was exploring and found the "about this mac" section. When I was viewing my RAM (I have 4 GB) I found out that both 2 GB slots are in use. How in the world is this possible? All I have downloaded is Office and applications like Skype and Spotify. I don't understand how all of my RAM is in use. I am planning on one day in the future putting Windows on my laptop so that I can run the programs that are only for Windows but you need like 1 GB of RAM for that. Also, I heard the less RAM you have the slower your computer is. Can anyone help me figure this out? Thanks
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Both physical slots have a stick of ram in them. Thus, they are in use. It does not mean that 4Gb of ram is being used by the system.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  4. outsidethelines thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #4
    So how do I find out how much RAM is being used?
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Do you understand what RAM is?

    You can use Activity Monitor > System Memory to find how much RAM is in use.
    Mac OS X: Reading system memory usage in Activity Monitor

    What is a Hard Disk Drive (HDD)? - measured in Bytes (B), MegaBytes (MB), GigaBytes (GB) and TeraBytes (TB)
    What Is a Solid State Drive (SSD)?
    Another article about SSD technology

    What is a CPU? - measured in MegaHertz (MHz) and GigaHertz (GHz)
    What is RAM? - measured again in MB and GB
     

Share This Page