Question about RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Unprocessed1, Sep 21, 2009.

1. Unprocessed1 macrumors 65816

Unprocessed1

Guess I'm a total newb when it comes to RAM, but I have a few questions.

1) I'm going to be getting a 2.26ghz 13" MBP. Will updating the RAM to 4 or 6 GB make a real-life difference in speed and performance? Is it worth the money? I currently have a 2.8Ghz MBP with 4 GB of RAM. Would I notice a big everyday performance between the 2 models?

2) When you buy 4 GB of RAM, does that mean you can add it to the 2 GB of RAM you already have to get 6GB? Not really sure how that works out. Do you have to replace your old RAM first?

3) Is replacing RAM idiot proof? Is there any special thing you need to do like reinstall the OS or configure internal settings?

BTW, I'm planning on installing an 80 GB Intel SSD (2nd gen) but I can't seem to find any (even the 1st gen ones are at the old price???), so I guess my main concern is upgrading the RAM worth it?

2. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

ziggyonice

1. Noticing a difference between 4GB and 6GB will be minimal at best. Noticing a difference between the 2GB you have now and what you upgrade to could happen though, depending on what you're using your computer for. You'll notice that you'll be able to use more programs at the same time, and you'll be able to work faster with programs that store a lot of information in RAM (including things like video, audio, or photo editing).

2. Yes, you could buy just one stick of 4GB RAM and add it to the 2GB stick you already have. Note that you'll get slightly better performance in having matched pairs, however. Although it's not required.

3. You don't have to change any settings after it's installed. It's all automatic and your Mac should just recognize it after you've installed it.

3. Unprocessed1 thread starter macrumors 65816

Unprocessed1