Question about running 3 displays

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kalex, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #1
    I have a 2009 MacPro 4,1 model

    It currently has ATI 4870 video card (flashed PC model). Works great but I'm looking to add 3rd display and not sure what I need to do. I have the original NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 that came with Mac Pro but its not installed.

    What is the easiest way for me to get 3 Monitors going?


    Thanks


    Alex
     
  2. you39 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #2
    Install the GT 120 & plug in?
     
  3. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #3
    not sure if I have enough space. 4870 is dual slot card and uses 2 power connectors
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Since your flashed card is taking up all the room, there are USB adapters that adds more display outputs.
     
  5. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #5
    All 4 PCI slots are full?

    The GT120 doesn't require a separate power cable. So if you have an open slot just shove that in there and it will work. I have 1 5870 and 1 GT120 installed right now.
     
  6. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Pop in the GT 120 in the second slot, above your 4870. It doesn't require a power cord.
     
  7. kalex, Jul 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011

    kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #7
    Nope only 2. Never mind, had a brain fart :)

    Thanks for the clarification Cynicalone

    Thanks The-Pro
     
  8. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    If its dual slot card, how come 2 slots are free. Shouldn't 3 slots be free as the first (lowest) slot is a dual width, so the top three should be free, unless u have Raid cards or something :D

    no problem :)
     
  9. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #9
    I mean 2 are used not free. I only have 4870 card in the mac pro so that should leave 3 slots free
     
  10. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    ah ok, allright
     

Share This Page