Question about Specs:

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by sfishman59, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. sfishman59 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I want to purchase a 15' Macbook pro but I also plan on playing the new Star wars mmo coming out next year (Star wars: The Old Republic). My question is, with the following specs, will I be able to run the game through bootcamp (or whatever means is best) and have the game on recommended settings?

    Here are the specs of the computer:

    4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
    Intel Core i7
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M with 512MB
    Intel HD Graphics

    Since the system recommendations haven't been set yet by the people at SW TOR, here are the WoW system specifications. The SW TOR ones should be similar if not slightly more demanding.

    OS:

    Windows XP 32/64-Bit (Service pack 3)
    Windows Vista 32/64-Bit (with the latest Service Packs)
    Windows 7** 32/64-Bit (with the latest updates)

    Processor:

    Minimum: Intel Pentium 4 1.3 GHz or AMD Athlon XP 1500+
    Recommended: Dual-core processor, such as the Intel Pentium D or AMD Athlon 64 X2


    Memory:

    Minimum: 512 MB RAM (1GB for Vista users)
    Recommended: 1 GB RAM (2 GB for Vista users)

    Video:

    Minimum: 3D graphics processor with Hardware Transform and Lighting with 32 MB VRAM Such as an ATI Radeon 7200 or NVIDIA GeForce 2 class card or better
    Recommended: 3D graphics processor with Vertex and Pixel Shader capability with 128 MB VRAM Such as an ATI Radeon X1600 or NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT class card or better

    I attached the windows requirements since i'd be running it through bootcamp etc.

    Thanks a lot for any help.

    Sam
     
  2. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #2
    WOW is ancient, the requirements will be much higher. But your computer will be fine anyway.
     
  3. poot1234 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #3
    Your specs are more than adequate to play many modern games. You are by far good to go.
     
  4. sfishman59 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #4
    Ok great, I was told by a friend that it would make sense to upgrade to the 8 gigs of memory since I would be running the game through bootcamp or some equivalent. Is there a big advantage to doing this?
     
  5. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #5
    ^^No.
    Unless you are going to be running other apps at the same time then 4GB should be plenty.
     
  6. sfishman59 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
  7. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    some people think bootcamp is an emulation environment.. which usually needs more ram... bootcamp is just a tool to let you dual boot your mac and boot directly into Windows like any normal Windows PC.... it works just like a normal PC when you do that.

    I was looking forward to Star Trek Online and Star Wars as well... I got STO running fine in Wine so I don't need Windows, but SWTOR looks a lot more demanding and I'm not too sure about it running in Wine very easily, and probably not before release like STO was.... so Bootcamp and Windows for a dual boot is probably the only way to go.
     
  8. eastern grey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    #8
    I have the same macbook pro except i only have the 256 graphics Nvidia, not he 512..

    Does this mean I'll have issues running SWTOR?
     
  9. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #9
    No but you might need to drop your settings a little compared to him due to the lower amount of VRAM.

    Edwin
     
  10. eastern grey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    #10
    Thanks for the reply!
     

Share This Page