Question about the Classic

Discussion in 'iPod' started by NikBar, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. NikBar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney
    #1
    Hey all,

    For those of you who have picked up a ipod classic does it come with a small pouch/case like the video did?

    if not are their any cases out their that fit the new ipods yet

    thanks..
     
  2. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    It doesn't come with a case no, but the Agent18 Video Shield for 30GB iPod video fits the iPod Classic 80GB perfectly.
     
  3. NikBar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney
    #3
    Thanks

    Also another question, i have read on "iLounge" that apple has locked the tv out function that is only unlockable with the use of a special apple chip found in some accessories.

    My question is can you use the old AV cables to view video on tv as i use that feature frequently with my 5th gen ipod.

    As i do not wish to fork out more money on other items when my 5th gen is perfectly fine. i just want the space!!!

    thanks...

    PS. Link To Article
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    You can use the old AV cable or an S-Video cable with the old iPod Universal Dock and get video out from the 3G nano and the classic but not just plugged into the iPod itself.

    Apple has a Knowledge Base article showing the different configurations that work with new and old iPods.

    The gist:

    Old Universal Dock + AV cable = Yes
    Old Universal Dock + S-Video cable = Yes
    New composite cable = Yes (3G, classic, 5G iPod)
    New component cable = Yes (3G, classic), No (5G iPod)

    Here's the article:

    Apple KB Article about TV Out support.
     
  5. NikBar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney
    #5
    Thanks heaps for that.

    I guess using the dock i have is much easier then needing to buy the new cables

    thanks again
     

Share This Page