Question about the HTC One

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by KAB2010, May 16, 2013.

  1. KAB2010 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    The dreaded menu bar that occurs on apps due to the device not having a menu key.. How prevalent is it still? Have many apps updated to resolve this? I know twitter did at least. I wouldn't plan on rooting it so I'm very curious about this.
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #2
    Still there, as for prevalent it depends on your app usage.

    for me. all stock apps = no menu.

    Facebook = menu
    Tapatalk = menu
    Engadget = menu
    photoshop touch = menu
    amazon = menu
    paypal = menu




    Instagram = no menu
    Twitter = no menu
    Tunein Radio pro = no menu
    You Tube = no menu
    Pulse = No Menu
    Flipboard = no menu
    Google Keep = no menu
    FitBit = no menu
    Runtastic Pro = no menu
    Pedometer Pro = no menu
    Pocketcasts = no menu
    Spotify = no menu
    Netflix = no menu
    The Verge = no menu
    4OD = no menu
    Kindle = no menu
    Word Press = no menu
    dropbox = no menu
    evernote = no menu
    skydrive = no menu
    eBay = no menu
    linkedin = no menu
    skype = no menu
    WhatsApp = no menu
    foursquare = no menu
    trip advisor = no menu
    Templerun Oz = no menu
    Real Racing 3 = no menu
    Ski Safari = no menu
     
  3. KAB2010 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #3
    I really appreciate you taking the time to do that for me. I'm considering going into AT&T today and trying out the One. I'm so hesitant though!
     
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #4

    Why, your only trying it out. If you like it - fair enough, if you don't - that's fair enough too. You are allowed to like or not like it - neither is wrong or right :)

    You won't know until you try.... ;)
     
  5. joshwithachance macrumors 68000

    joshwithachance

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    #5
    Only a few apps I use still have it. To be honest, it's not that big of a deal and hopefully (eventually) it'll be gone from every app.
     
  6. KentuckyHouse macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #6
    Do you have a blog, MRU? I typically really like your posts, so if you've got a blog, I would probably enjoy reading what you've got to say...LOL. :D
     
  7. El3ctronics macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    If you're willing to root it's extremely easy to get rid of the menu button and map it to a simple hold of the back key. That's what I did and the menu button is now gone for good.
     
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #8
    I'm actually working on launching one very soon as it happens ;) I'll keep you all posted when it's ready for the primetime :)
     
  9. Fernandez21 macrumors 601

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #9
    And if you don't want to root, HTC will be including this feature in one of their next updates.
     
  10. KAB2010 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #10
    Have a source for that?

    ----------

    Yeah it's just I would be buying off contract and if I keep it would need to sell the iPhone 5 on eBay. So kind of a complicated thing to go through if I'm still on the fence.

    ----------

    I second that!
     
  11. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #11
    I exchanged my Galaxy S4 for an HTC One today. :p
     
  12. KAB2010 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #12
    Can you give reasons and compare the two please?
     
  13. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #13
    I've been a TouchWiz user for a while. I owned a Galaxy S3 and a Galaxy Note 2 as well. The S4 is a great phone, and feels much better in the hand than the S3 in my opinion.

    That being said, the display on the HTC One is better, and more accurate than the S4. It's whites look much better, and the speakers are AMAZING!

    I also really enjoy the wide angle lenses, especially on the front facing camera.

    I've never been a fan of Sense but I've been using the phone heavily all day and I'm quickly getting use to it and some things I really enjoy, such as it's lock screen tickers.

    I'll update this as I use it more and have more to add.
     
  14. KAB2010 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #14
    Okay cool. Thanks for sharing.
     
  15. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

    Southernboyj

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    #15

    [​IMG]

    This is my battery usage so far today.


    Also, ignore the "Average long term stats" estimates. While those are usually accurate, since I have only had the phone since this morning.. this is by no means long enough to yield a precise long term estimate.

    My phone was used with the brightness at 100% and since the phone is new, you can guess I have been on it quite a bit today.
     
  16. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #16

    Sickens me every time I see that 4G LTE logo in status bar... Curses to all you fast Internet users :p :)


    Enjoy the phone Southernboyj :) remember to give the phone a few days for battery to become more accurate (same for S4 users) :)
     

Share This Page