Question about the mabook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by samueltan, Jan 13, 2008.

1. samueltan macrumors newbie

I have been using PC for almost 10 years and really got tired of all the problems related to windows. I have been considering switching to mac for several months, but I still have some questions about mac and wish anyone can help me a little here.

- "The Hardware problem"
    As we know, the general ram we use for PC is 2 GB. But for the macbook, it is 1 GB. I really doubt whether it is enough and it costs 150 dollars to upgrade to 2GB from apple. ~~~~. Is there anywhere else I can buy the ram (I am not sure whether the ram is specific for mac) ? About the HD, I have no idea what the 80 GB means to MAc. The pc I use at least has 160 GB.

- "Software problem"
    OK, the Office I use was downloaded from internet(dont ask me whether it is piracy). I am just a poor student and cannot afford the price. If I switch to mac, i dont know where to get it and I just saw the price of the new office for mac, 199$!!!!!!

-"Rumor"
    Many people have told me the "Jan 15". Should I order it right now or just wait until Jan 15? Is it possible apple upgrade macbook anytime in the near future?

2. iTeen macrumors 65816

iTeen

DON'T buy ANYTHING from apple untell tuesday, i think we shall see a update of some kind to current macbooks,
    just PLEASE wait:eek:

3. SkyBell macrumors 604

SkyBell

On hardware:

You'll find that OS X is pretty zippy with 1 GB of RAM, because it's not as bloated as Windows. 80 GB really isn't that much, unless you are just a light user. But it should be sufficent.

On Software

Google "Neo Office" without the quotes. It's basically likke Office, but free.

On Rumor

It is very possible that there will be an update to the MacBook on the 15th. You could buy one now and be happy with what you have, or you could wait until the 15th and see if anything new comes along.

4. denz455 macrumors member

denz455