Question about Time Machine and my MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macuser1232, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. macuser1232 macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #1
    Hey I was wondering how Time Machine works with my External Hard Drive after I erased my internal HD and reinstalled OS X. How does my external hard drive still recognize my computer and allow me to Enter Time Machine and my back ups? Does it have anything to do with my administrator account?
     
  2. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    When you reinstall the OS it should have asked you if you want to restore with TM.
     
  3. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #3
    Yeah I just wanted to move certain files like pictures and documents to my HD. So what happens if you connect an External HD that has backups of one MBP to a different MBP. Will you be able to restore from backups? If not, why?
     
  4. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    I believe you can. Just go into system and open time machine, then select any files you want to restore.
     
  5. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #5
    It will work on any computer? wow.
     
  6. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    If your backups are on your external drive then yes it should.
     
  7. bluespaceoddity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #7
  8. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #8
    Thanks.

    ----------

    My question is, Does Time Machine think my Mac is a new Mac since I erased my HD and reinstalled OS X? If I start to backup will it not erase my old backups from before I erased my HD and reinstalled OS X?
     
  9. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    Your backups are always available unless you physically delete them. When your backup drive gets full of backups it will automatically start to delete the oldest file. Does this answer your question?
     
  10. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #10
    Yes but that's not what happens when you back up two different Mac computers with 1 external hard drive. Apparently Time Machine won't delete your other Mac computer's backups if the external drive gets full. It will just delete the old backups of the Mac computer that you are currently backing up on.
     
  11. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    It's better to have a seperate drive for each computer anyways. External HDD these days are cheap. I believe only the Apple time capsule can have seperate backups for each computer in your household.
     
  12. bluespaceoddity, Nov 18, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012

    bluespaceoddity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #12
    Which is a slightly different question than the one you asked initially.

    How Time Machine "treats" your current computer depends on your choices when Set Up Assistant ran on first restart, which OS you had when you backed up and whether or not that is the same OS as the one you're currently using, the size of the disks etc.

    How you continue now also depends on what you want to do with the old Time Machine backups. Do you want to continue backing up to that same set or do you merely want to extract certain files and then discard the old set ... or a different scenario ... .

    Perhaps you can start here:
    http://pondini.org/TM/B6.html

    and look around that site to see what else applies to your situation and your future plans with those backups.

    Edit:
    This may be something that applies to your situation once you connect the external and try to access previously made backups through Time Machine:
    http://pondini.org/TM/E3.html
     
  13. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #13
    Really? Just the Time Capsule?
     
  14. Irock619 macrumors 68000

    Irock619

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #14
    "I believe", meaning not totally sure. To be quite honest I've been confused since your first post. Not sure what you are trying to achieve here. It's not your fault, I just don't understand your confusion with TM.
     
  15. bluespaceoddity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
  16. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #16
    Yeah I know that I can back up two Macs with Time Machine. But I'm not sure if Time Machine thinks my Mac is a new Mac because I erased my HD and reinstalled OS X or not. So when I make back ups again is it going to back up like it's a new Mac or is it going to back up like I'm on the same Mac(which I am).
     
  17. bluespaceoddity macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #17
    Which was addressed in this part of an earlier reply and link:

     

Share This Page