Question about time machine

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Awfisch, May 11, 2011.

  1. Awfisch macrumors member

    Awfisch

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #1
    Hi, I'm trying to back up my macbook using time machine over the network. All of the other back ups that I did were done on the same hard drive but via USB. Now, when I try to do it over the local network, I select the back up disc, but it starts backing up in the disk. Instead of inside of backups.backupdb How do I select this folder inside of the disk for time machine to back up to?

    Thanks

    p.s. Im not using time capsule. Although its probably worth looking into.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. Awfisch thread starter macrumors member

    Awfisch

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #3
    What I mean is that I am trying to get it to back up to a specific folder inside of the disk. But Time Machine wants to back up outside of the folder and just on the disk. Here is a screen shot. I am trying to get it to back up inside of Backups.backupdb


    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/197/screenshot20110511at110.jpg

    And the router im using is one provided by Qwest. I have the hard drive hooked up to another computer thats on the network.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba, May 11, 2011
    Last edited: May 11, 2011

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    removed image from above post
    FALSE
    Yeah, I had the same problem over a network connection. But I did just let TM finish and then the backup was moved inside the backups.backupdb folder, if I remember correctly.
    /FALSE

    Btw, you can make screenshots of single windows via CMD+SHIFT+4, then pressing SPACEBAR and clicking on the window or dialog or element. With CMD+SHIFT+4 you can make a selection of the are you want to shoot.
     
  5. Jolly Giant macrumors 6502a

    Jolly Giant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #5
    that's the problem. see the green box in this user tip.
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Thanks, seem to have misremembered it. Now I am schlauer, zumindest wenn der Ede ums Eck kommt.
     
  7. Awfisch thread starter macrumors member

    Awfisch

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #7
    Ahh... Okay thanks guys. One last question. Can I start backing up over the network without having to delete my old USB backups? I guess its fine if they are in a different folder, but on the same disk. Will that work?

    Thanks
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    No need to delete anything. It will work.
     
  9. Jolly Giant macrumors 6502a

    Jolly Giant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #9
    have you seen this part of the user tip ?
     

Share This Page