Question about Time machine

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ryinbrown, Mar 21, 2009.

  1. ryinbrown macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    I am wanting to upgrade my harddrive size on my macbook, but I misplaced my Leopard disk. Am I able to use my time machine backup to install on my new harddrive?

    Thanks for all comments in advance =))
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    You cna just use something like carbon copy cloner to make a direct copy of the hard drive.
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    A Time Machine backup is not bootable
    A clone from something like Carbon Copy Cloner is

    If you plan to use the Time Machine backup, you will need the install disk to boot from... or some other way to boot and recognize your backup

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. ryinbrown thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #4
    So I make a complete copy of my harddrive to an external drive. Let's say it's 40GB. How do I put that on the new harddrive?
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    If you use Carbon Copy Cloner... you would make a bootable clone to an external HD. Install your new HD. Boot from the external drive. Clone back to your new HD. It really works well.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  6. ryinbrown thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009

Share This Page