Question about upgrading from 4gb to 8gb on new iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by gwhitta, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. gwhitta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #1
    My quad arrives today and I'm already thinking about upgrading the RAM. I've never done it before but it seems fairly easy from YouTube videos. Here's my question though - will I be adding or replacing RAM? Am I adding two additional 2gb sticks to the two already in there, or am I swapping out two 2gb sticks for two 4gb sticks?

    Also, if anyone could point me to a reliable link for good cheap Mac RAM online I'd appreciate it! Thanks from a Mac n00b!
     
  2. chp5592 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #2
  3. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    The 27 inch iMacs have 4 ram slots, so no you do not have to replace your current ram sticks with new ones. Something very nice on apple's behalf.

    I do not know the exact maker for your iMac's current ram, but I do know the ram modules are 1066 mhz ddr3 so-dimms. Just search that up on newegg.com.
    Companies like kingston and crucial sell 2x2gb module packages for around 80-100 usd.
     
  4. gwhitta thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    #4
    Sounds good... am I really going to see much of an upgrade in performance from 4gb to 8gb? My main uses: Microsoft Office, Mail, Safari, iTunes, WoW and some Windows 7 gaming in Boot Camp.
     
  5. kate-willbury macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #5
    lol are you serious? you barely even do anything with your computer. why would you need 8 gigs of ram? funny that you even have to mention apps like 'mail, safari, itunes' lolol.
     
  6. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    You should monitor your ram use closely when you get the iMac, and see if you're near max usage when doing whatever you do. If so then you could see a modest increase in performance with an upgrade to 8 gigs of ram. As it stands, 4 gigs of ram is already a very good amount.
     
  7. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    6GB in iMac?

    I don't want to hijack the thread, but I also have a question about upgrading the memory in my new iMac. To start, I believe my MacBook has the same type of ram that my iMac does, so what I am thinking I could do is buy a new 2x2GB kit to install in the MacBook, and then just throw the 2x1GB sticks from the MacBook into the extra dimms on the iMac for a total of 6GB. I know it isn't ideal to mix and match ram, but there would be no harm in it and I would see modest gains in performance, correct? They would both be the stock brand from apple.
     
  8. iMerlin macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #8
    I cant find the thread now but there was another thread regarding this. Apple states you can use mismatch RAM sizes, so the situation you are suggesting should work no problem.
     
  9. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    Awesome. Thanks. I'll be sure to search for that thread.
     
  10. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #10
    You can use whatever ram sizes you want outside of the initial dual memory channel bonus the lynnfields get.
     

Share This Page