Question about VMWare, Windows and Sleep...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Sounds Good, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. Sounds Good macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #1
    Before shutting down a Windows laptop, all applications must first be shut, and then you shut down Windows.

    On a Mac laptop, you just close the lid and it goes to sleep.

    Now...

    Let's say you're using VMWare on a MBP, and Windows is running with one application open. You're done using your laptop for the day.

    Can you just close the lid? Or do you have to close down the Windows app, then shut down Windows and/or VMWare, then close the lid?

    Or ???? :confused:
     
  2. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #2
    You can put a Windows computer to sleep too, you realize that? Regardless though, you can have VMWare simply suspend the machine, or you can just put the computer to sleep normally. It won't hurt anything.

    jW
     
  3. bankshot macrumors 65816

    bankshot

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    Just close the lid and let it sleep. I've never had a problem doing this with Parallels, and I can't imagine that VMware would be any different.
     
  4. Sounds Good thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #4
    Not my Windows computer. ;)

    Sleep never seems to work correctly. Hibernate works fine, but that's different.
     
  5. wako macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    #5
    actually when you tell a Windows computer to shut down it closes all the applications by itself and then shuts down. Just like how a mac would do it...


    just wanted to clarify that.
     

Share This Page