Question about W7 and RAM

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SirStrumalot, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. SirStrumalot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #1
    So I have a copy of Windows 7 installed in my 13" i7 MBP via bootcamp, but notice that in the system description, it says that there is "4GB of RAM (only 2.17GB usable)". Does anybody know why this is? I was going to upgrade from 4 to 8GB this week, and was also wondering whether that would have an effect?
     
  2. Guiyon, Mar 30, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011

    Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #2
    It sounds like you're running the 32-bit version of Windows 7. If so, you'll need to upgrade to the 64-bit version if you wish to use more of your RAM.
     
  3. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Right-click Computer from the Start menu (or if it's on your desktop), and go to properties. In there it will show you if you're running the 32-bit or 64-bit version. Although it sounds like you're running the 32-bit version. 32-bit has a physical address limit that will not allow it to utilize more than 4GB of RAM, and even then you'll be stuck with less than that due to hardware addressing. You'll want to install the 64-bit version of Windows 7.
     

Share This Page