I have noticed this a couple of times when doing a fresh reinstall of Leopard: If I use the option to "zero data once" with disk utility from installation disk and then do a fresh install of leopard, all the information is not removed from my internal hard disk. In particular, the spotlight privacy settings are retained. For example, when I attach my backup hard disk after the fresh install, I discover that it automatically appears under the "privacy" tab in the spotlight settings. The same happens for my Eyetv folder. Is there a way to ensure EVERYTHING really is erased before a fresh install of the OS?