All iPads Question for composers/musicians. Suggest the best size for music notation apps

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Vodka, Oct 25, 2013.

1. Vodka macrumors regular

Hello, everyone!
    I'm a long-time OS and iPhone user, but never had and iPad and never felt the need for one. Now what the new models come in November i start to think of the possible purchase.
    I live in Japan and earned a lot of points for purchasing something in a household appliances shop. I'm studying music/composing, and my question is how usable an iPad(mini or 9.7") for music notation. I tried both sizes in shop(liked mini size more), but couldn't try music notation apps, so I'm not sure what size will suit better(now what standard sized iPad weight a lot less).
    Probably music notation is the only reason for purchasing. Maybe i'll use iBooks, as i use 'em on my iphone too.

Thanks in advance :)

2. Threni macrumors member

Hello,

I am a composer but I haven't yet found a composing app. I use Sibelius to compose on my PC but there doesn't seem to be an iPad equivalent.

There is an app "Avid Scorch" to open and play sibelius files that have already been written. You can also buy scores (useful as I am a teacher) for someone to play and transpose them to the relevant key.

There are a few other apps you might like including Beethoven 9, The Orchestra and one about Liszt Sonata. If you search how I have written them they should come up.

3. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

If you're doing music notation or using sheet music apps, I'd definitely recommend the full size Air. I've used sheet music on my iPad mini and it's too small for me, that's literally the only thing I don't find the mini perfect for, though.

4. Icaras macrumors 603

Icaras

I agree with this and this topic just reminded me all about reading sheet music. With the distance from the stand above your keyboard, I found myself having to lean forward and squinting at times with the mini.