Question for iMac/LaCie HD users

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sir Cecil, Jun 24, 2008.

  1. Sir Cecil macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #1
    I am using the latest iMac with the latest 500GB LaCie external D2 Hard Disk. I'm using Firewire 800.

    Can anyone tell me what the AUTO setting on the LaCie's power switch is supposed to do? The HD seems to function no differently at either ON or AUTO setting. I've tried to extract info from LaCie (via e-mail support) but all they say is that in AUTO, the drive should power up or down when the computer does. But that's what happens in the ON setting, so what's the difference? They are most unhelpful.

    Also, the blue light on the front remains on at all times in AUTO or ON, regardless of whether the computer is switched off, or if the Firewire cable is attached or detached. The light only goes off if actually switched to the OFF setting. What's "auto" about that? Looking online, it seems plenty others have a problem with this function, but I see no answers. At the Apple Store, one tech told me the AUTO function on any LaCie HD simply doesn't't work! Is this true?

    Has anyone seen any differences between using their LaCie at AUTO or ON settings?

    Thanks.
     
  2. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    ...ive had some drives with On-Auto-Off and the auto never worked in osx....i think it is supported only windows machines??....whatever :)
     
  3. Sir Cecil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #3

    Not according to LaCie. They are so sure it SHOULD work with my iMac, they want me to send it back for repair. But I have FOUR of the drives (all bought in the last month) and NONE of them do anything in Auto setting. No Lacie drive at the Apple Store does anything in the auto setting. Yours does not either. And many others posts elsewhere ask the same question. Yet LaCie insist it should.

    Is there anyone using a LaCie HD with an iMac (or other Mac) whose auto function does anything different to the On switch?
     
  4. tshort macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #4
    FW ports on Macs are always powered

    I have the same setup. The problem is that the iMac's Firewire ports are always powered up. This is so that you can boot from a FW drive. If you carefully search on Apple's site, you can see this.

    Another way to see this is to power down your Mac, and then disconnect the cable to the drive... if it's in the auto mode, it will spin down.

    Then reconnect it, it will spin back up. Then unplug your Mac and you will see it spin down.

    I found this very frustrating! One option is to buy one of the APC UPS's with master power control switch. But you have to set the thresholds carefully.
     
  5. tshort macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #5
  6. Sir Cecil thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #6
    Thanks for this info. A pity then that an iMac doesn't offer an option to cut power to the port when the computer is idle, so that useful auto functions like LaCie's can be utilized. Better still, they should provide two ports, with one constantly powered and one not.
     
  7. The Hammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    So if I plug the drive into the USB port it will work as advertised?
     
  8. tshort macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #8
    Try it and see (it's easy!). I have mine plugged into FW800, because I want the speed.
     
  9. The Hammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #9
    I don't have my iMac yet. Just doing some research so that I know what to get when the time comes later this year. Just lining up all my ducks in a row.
     
  10. tshort macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #10
    Yes, it does work (i.e. shutdown) with USB. However, FW800 is faster if it's available.
     

Share This Page