Question for iMac owners. Please help.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by td2243, Sep 25, 2013.

1. td2243 macrumors 6502

Hey guys,

I'm not a techie, so alot of the specs go in one ear and out the other. I'm definitely wanting a new computer by the end of the year. Here are the tasks I do or will do that are taxing on a system:

-Video editing with Final Cut Pro 7. I do quite a bit of photo/video editing.
    -I also plan on getting the Adobe suite to switch over to Premiere and After Effects.

-I do audio editing using Audition on a weekly basis. (probably the least taxing)

-I plan on getting ProTools and recording music as well.

Knowing this is what I plan to do with the new machine, do you think this machine can handle this or where would it suffer?

3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz
    8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2X4GB
    3TB Fusion Drive
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4GB GDDR5

I really use my systems for a long time without replacing every couple of years. I have a 2nd monitor with a matte finish, so the glossy finish on the iMac shouldn't be too problematic.

If ya'll have iMacs for the kinds of stuff I do, does it perform well? Thanks so much for the help.

2. neda macrumors member

You should always buy the "most powerful" Mac. you can afford. That being said , if you can afford the most powerful 27" iMac ,I'd get that for what you need . Im a digital artists and have the 2nd most powerful one on the "tier" and get by fine using Photoshop and big files for my work . So far it's been great , oh and my Mac is less that a year old, bought last Christmas.

3. elithrar macrumors 6502

elithrar

For video work:

- i7 (most decoders/encoders are heavily multithreaded)
    - Disk I/O (SSD/Fusion or fast external drives)
    - RAM (16GB should be plenty unless you are super srs)

For sound work:

- Nothing fancy - I/O will likely be your crux. External DACs or MIDI inputs will be useful.

For Photoshop: