Question for those with 2.6/2.8 and 8 gb/16gb

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by silentthunder77, May 18, 2015.

1. silentthunder77 macrumors member

Hey everyone,

I've scoured the forums looking for information and have enjoyed reading many of your reviews and overall happiness with your Mac Mini. However, it's time for me to upgrade my computer and I'm having difficulty with deciding which machine to choose.

First of all, I'm a student, and I like having many windows/tabs/applications running. Gaming needs are minimal, although I do enjoy occasionally running Starcraft 2 and Heroes of the Storm. I use Spotify,YNAB for budgeting, Safari, Word/office, and email simultaneously frequently. I use Photos/iMovie/Garageband very infrequently. Any general insight into things you've noticed from your computers would be very appreciated. Specifically, I'm deciding on whether I should order the 2.6 ghz with 1 tb fusion drive and upgrade to 16 gb ram, or if i should choose just choose the stock 2.8 ghz, and leave the ram at 8 gb. Or, perhaps if you have noticed that this machine would be underpowered, that would be helpful to know as well.

Any and all insight is greatly appreciated!
    Tom

2. KeepCalmPeople, May 18, 2015
    Last edited: May 18, 2015

KeepCalmPeople macrumors 65816

KeepCalmPeople

I just ordered a 2.6 i5/8GB/256GB based on reading through the comments on these forums.
    The sense I get is that going SSD instead of HDD or even Fusion for storage will make a much bigger difference than a 16GB upgrade, for all but the most demanding users processing huge files, or running more than one Virtual Machine.

3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

Processor upgrades are the least worthy among the dual-core systems offered by Apple, as the 3GHz i7 will only beat the 2.6GHz i5 by 5% at best.

So just stick back to the 2.6GHz i5, 16GB RAM and 1TB FD/256GB SSD option. Personally, I'm leaning towards the 256GB SSD.

4. silentthunder77 thread starter macrumors member