Question for Torchlight players....

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Zerozal, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. Zerozal macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    For those of you who play Torchlight, can you check something for me? When Torchlight is open, are you able to activate Expose, or use Command-Tab to switch applications or Command-Option-Esc to bring up the Force Quit dialog box?

    None of those options work for me while playing Torchlight (even though they all work fine from other Steam games like TF2 or L4D2).

    I normally wouldn't mind, however I'm experience some infrequent hangs in Torchlight, and since I can't switch applications or bring up Force Quit, my only option is to turn off my system, which I don't want to do.

    Thanks!
     
  2. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
  3. smirk macrumors 6502a

    smirk

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #3
    Those keys do not work for me when Torchlight is running. Does shift-tab bring up the Steam menu for you?

    The only other thing I can think of is to SSH in from another computer and manually kill Torchlight. I think I had to do that once.
     
  4. foiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #4
    Good question. I haven't played this game out of fullscreen, and usually fullscreen games don't give you the task-switch option.
     
  5. bkap16 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #5
    No it doesn't work for me. I don't believe it's supposed to. The category of game it falls under is not "Steam game"- Steam is just the distribution service. The thing that actually plays the game is the game engine that Runic Games built on top of OGRE. While Valve's Source Engine integrates with the OS quite well, apparently this engine takes over the whole computer.
     
  6. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #6
    On the odd occurrence that Torchlight has hung for me, option-command-esc has not brought up the force quit menu, it has simply forced torchlight to immediately quit.

    And the Shift-Tab Steam Online thing seems to sometimes work, and sometimes not. I don't yet know what the deciding factor is.
     
  7. foiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #7
    Well, that's good that there is at least one option for force quitting the application, even if it happens immediately. Better than a total reboot. I haven't run into this because my copy of Torchlight has yet to hang or freeze, but this is good to know in case it does.
     
  8. Zerozal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    At least most of the time, yes. Once the Steam menu is up, Command-Option-Esc seems to immediately kill it. Thanks--I had forgotten about the Steam menu, so I'll take this path the next time is hangs on me.
     
  9. Zerozal, Dec 7, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010

    Zerozal thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    PA
    #9
    I'll try running it in Windowed mode as well. Without me having to dig through menus, can anyone point out where to find the Windowed/Fullscreen option?

    Edit: Nevermind. Found it.
     

Share This Page