Question for video editors who use nMP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ChromeHeart, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. ChromeHeart, Mar 26, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2014

    ChromeHeart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Just received my 6-core Mac Pro (32GB RAM, 512 SSD, D700). I've only installed FCP X and Da Vinci Resolve (which crashes every time I try to open it). Have any of you experienced lag scrubbing through footage on the timeline? I notice quite a few hiccups here and there and sometimes it sort of freezes for 2 seconds. Applying effects and outputting seems to be pretty fast though. Is this normal? I'm using footage shot in Prores (NOT 2.5k raw) from a black magic cinema camera. I was expecting hot knife through butter smooth performance with a machine like this. Were my expectations too high or is it a possibility that there is something wrong with the computer? Should I try a clean reinstall? Like I said da vinci resolve simply will not open, just instantly crashes and it is the latest version. Thanks!
     
  2. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #2
    Not a video editor, but generally a crashing application always outputs some relative messages to the console that - sometimes - help to track the problem.
     
  3. Stephent macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #3
    Have you run speed tests to make sure everything is functioning properly? Have similarly specced machine (64Gb RAM) and it is smooth as can be. I would fully unistall Resolve and then reinstall in.
     
  4. ChromeHeart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    #4
    I'm starting to doubt this is an issue with the computer but more of an issue with my external HDD. I'm using a LaCie d2 USB 3.0 / Thunderbolt external. I have it connected using the thunderbolt cable. I'm noticing the lag when I'm using files stored on this vs the internal SSD of the Mac Pro which is super quick (no lag). Perhaps I haven't set up FCP X properly? Any tips?
     
  5. snouter, Mar 27, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014

    snouter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #5
    set up a project on the SSD

    set up a project on the LaCie

    Both work? only one work?

    I had scrubby issues on my MacBook Pro in Premiere Pro when I moved a project to it to take to a client's office. They went away after PP rebuilt all of the preview and audio waveform files. You should see some CPU/disk activity if this is the case.
     
  6. ChromeHeart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    #6
    @Snouter

    Both work, but the Lacie lags a bit whereas the SSD is perfect... no delays or hiccups. If I want this speed does that mean I have to go out and buy an expensive external SSD drive, or is there a better way to configure my FCP X settings?
     
  7. ChromeHeart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    #7
    Ok, new question. Will getting a new external hard drive with faster read/write speeds (such as a 1TB SSD) potentially solve this issue? or possibly a RAID setup?
     
  8. FrankHahn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #8
    To the OP:

    You better first check the read and write speeds of your LaCie d2 using, for example, BlackMagic speed tester. If the read and write speeds are low, then you may consider buying a raid or a LaCie thunderbolt 2 1TB SSD LBD.

    Please note that hard disks become slow when they are nearly full. It is a good idea to fill a hard disk no more than 80% of its capacity.
     
  9. tarsierspectral macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #9
  10. ChromeHeart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    #10
    With the Black Magic App I'm hitting 180 MB/s with the Lacie D2 External, whereas my internal SSD is hitting 800+ MB/s Would this issue be solved if I invested in a Pegasus2 R4 and set up a RAID?
     
  11. snouter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #11
    I think 180MB/s should be plenty fast enough?

    http://documentation.apple.com/en/f...ws/index.html#chapter=10&section=4&tasks=true

    Are you using multiple timeline layers?

    FWIW I have a Pegasus2 R4 8TB - stock out of the box RAID5 I'm seeing 520+ MB/s writes and 440+ MB/s reads.
     
  12. Stephent macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #12
    that could be the issue depending on the complexity / format of your sequence. I do love the Pegasus2 I have an R6 and it is almost as fast as the internal on my nMP.
     

Share This Page