Question for you Adium users

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by climhazzard85, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. climhazzard85 macrumors member

    climhazzard85

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #1
    I just started using Adium, I love it except it seems to regularly use 45-60 megs of ram. Is this normal behavior? That's all, Thank you


    -Evan
     
  2. NavySEAL6 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    #2
    im using like 55 right now so i guess thats about normal
     
  3. climhazzard85 thread starter macrumors member

    climhazzard85

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
  4. biturbomunkie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    cali
    #4
    i never even noticed... it's sucking up 52.25mb of ram at the moment...
     
  5. devilot Moderator emeritus

    devilot

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #5
    38.41MB of Real Memory, 437.16MB of Virtual Memory.
     
  6. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #6
    Ooh! Ooh! I want to play!

    37.95 MB Real
    433.96 MB Virtual
     
  7. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #7
    50.91 MB Real
    449.13 MB Virtual

    Yikes! Although last time I compared it to iChat it uses less CPU, so I guess it evens out.
     
  8. evands macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    #8
    • 25 to 65 MB RSIZE is normal for Adium, depending on your usage.
    • Remember to add the "iChat Agent" RAM usage to the "iChat" usage when considering iChat's RAM footprint. Generally, iChat and Adium use roughly equivalent amounts of RAM, with the caveat below
    • The WebKit framework which ships with OS X 10.4.9 (on Intel at least, and probably on PPC), used by Safari and by Adium among other applications has a major memory leak. We haven't done tests with Safari 3.0 beta yet, but the problem is most likely fixed since the leaking objects' classes don't even exist in the current developer version of the WebKit frameworks.
     

Share This Page