question from future buyer

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by futuremacuser, May 1, 2011.

1. futuremacuser macrumors newbie

I am looking to switch from windows and buy a macbook pro in the near future and have read many of these threads already. I don't know as much about computers as most of you do, so I thought I'd ask a few questions. I'm thinking about getting the base 13". I currently have a 2008 14" toshiba satellite (processor Intel Core 2 Duo T5800 / 2.0 GHz, 4GB RAM, and only using about half of my 250 GB), so I don't think going down to at 13" would be much of a problem.

Here's what I'd use it for...I'm a teacher so it would be my work computer. I often work with a few programs open (word, powerpoint, my smartboard software, internet browsers, itunes), so I'd like something that can easily work that.

I also recently got a dslr camera and am storing many of those RAW images on my HD. I'd like something that would easily be able to convert those images into jpeg so I can email them, make photo books etc. From what I've read, that is too much for iphoto to handle and I'd need Apeture?

Will the base 13" i5 be ok for what I use it for? (one thing I don't do is play games)

Sorry if I sound too much like a novice and thanks in advance for your help!

2. snaky69 macrumors 603

From what you're saying, the 13'' will handle all you're throwing at it and brush it off and beg for more.

You'll be just fine, though iPhoto really isn't all that good with RAW files. Aperture would indeed be a much better option.

3. ScottNWDW macrumors 65816

ScottNWDW

I recently switched from a windows laptop to the macbook pro. I went with the 13" base model and never looked back.