Question Mark in Quicktime

Discussion in 'macOS' started by gozz, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. gozz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #1
    does anyone know that why all of a sudden when I try to watch a video on the apple website, a question mark just appears and no video? How do i fix that?
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    did you apply any updates recently.

    Try logging out and logging back in again.
     
  3. gozz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #3
    yeah i downloaded all the updates and then logged back in but same result.
     
  4. jeffreyfort macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Location:
    Findlay, Ohio
    #4
    I spent at least an hour each with two different levels of Apple Tech Support with this issue. Finally, he suggested a wipe clean and reinstall of 10.5. I don't need QT that badly on this computer.
     
  5. gozz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #5
    That seems crazy. Ive only had this laptop for like a month and there must be some setting or something that wont allow me to stream quicktime. Please someone help
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    Have you tried another browser?
    You can always download the linked file by option+enter on the url on the page that the quicktime video is on
    You could try reapplying the latest combo update.
     
  7. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #7
    i also suggest this as its worked for me once. go to the MIME settings in QuickTime's preferences in System Preferences and click "Use Defaults".
     
  8. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #8
    My wife and I were using FF to watch trailers on Apple.com last night, and all of a sudden all the links kept bringing up the same question mark QT icon. It even appeared on trailers we had just been able to watch.

    I switched to Safari and they all worked. We hadn't changed anything in FF before it quit working. Strange...
     
  9. dwnet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #9
    Greater problem

    hi!

    I've got a brand new Macbook Pro 2 days ago, never changed anything.
    QT does not work, not on the web and not alone. it shows this ? question mark and that's it.

    anyone?
     

Share This Page