Question... New to Macbook Pros

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Demarrer, Aug 9, 2009.

  1. Demarrer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #1
    So i just got my first apple computer/macbook pro and had a few quick questions. I know that laptops aren't the most customizable things in the world, but I would like to know if it is possible to "update" or "upgrade" a few things in the computer.

    - Could I add more RAM in the future

    - Is it possible to remove the installed disk drive, and than replace it with another one?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #2
    The first option is user-replaceable, Apple does not deem it as violating your warranty. However, Apple is known to steal your ram if it's third party if it gets sent into Apple Care for repair - so keep your old stuff.

    The second one is doable, but it would violate your warranty.
     
  3. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Yes, unless you already have the maximum amount installed. Which model of the MacBook Pro are you using?
     
  4. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #4
    in short yes and yes.. the latest revisions of the Macbook Pro line have become a bit tricky to upgrade- with the non-removable batteries n that.. But its still very possible.

    PTP
     
  5. Demarrer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #5
    Macbook Pro 13".. got it yesterday
     
  6. ZizousamA macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    Is it the lower 13" or the higher? The lower can recognize up to 4gb and comes with 2, the higher model takes up to 8gb and comes with 4. I hope that you got the higher model.
     
  7. Demarrer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #7
    i did, but whats wrong with the lower model?
     
  8. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #8
    Both can take 8 GB of RAM, it says so on Apple's website. The only real difference between to two is an unnoticeably faster processor, more RAM, and a larger hard drive, the latter two being easily and inexpensively upgradeable. Upgrading yourself won't void the warranty on the RAM or hard drive, the optical drive I don't believe is user replaceable according to Apple, so that would void the warranty (but you can just put the stock one back in if you have a problem and they'll never know). Also, non-Apple RAM is generally removed, put in a baggie, and shipped back to the owner with the computer if left in.
     
  9. Demarrer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #9
    Where could I buy more "Apple" RAM... The Apple Store online?
     
  10. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #10
    I like to get my RAM from Other World computing. Here's the right page for your model. Apple's RAM tends to be very, very overpriced.
     
  11. ZizousamA macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #11
    You are right. I could almost swear that the 8gb option for the lower model wasn't available a while ago!
     
  12. ZizousamA macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    Yes Apple charges a heck of a lot for RAM. You are better off buying somewhere else such as newegg.com under the apple section or Apple's certified resellers and online stores found on here http://wheretobuy.apple.com/Catalog.html and install it yourself.
     
  13. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    HAHA! are you sure?? its a unibody :p its like two screws to get it out...
     
  14. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #14
    I talked to the Genius Bar, replacing the Superdrive is not a user-upgrade.
     
  15. ZizousamA macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #15
    I was under the impression that it only supports up to 4gb of RAM. Now that I know it supports 8, it is perfectly and the only difference is its slower cpu.
     
  16. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    i think the OP will need to clarify, i refer a 'disk drive' as HDD... (as in Hard Disk Drive).
     
  17. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    it wasnt. it was only introduced in the last revision.
     
  18. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #18
    Yeah, I'm not sure why I interrupted the OP as referring to the optical drive, clearly the hard drive is user-replaceable. Although the hybrid (replacing the optical drive with a hard drive) not so much...
     
  19. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    everyone does it it would still be best if he clarifies though..

    im waiting for my optical bay add-on to arrive to i can put another HDD in there! (woohoo).
     
  20. JonB3Z macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #20
    The User Guide should tell you exactly how to do both of those things. The 15" User Guide certainly does, and I just finished upgrading my HDD to a 500-GB, 7200-RPM Seagate.
     

Share This Page