Question: OCZ PCIe SSD in 2008 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mathazzar, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. Mathazzar macrumors newbie

    Mathazzar

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I have a quick question for you: I'm looking to add an SSD to my 2008 Mac Pro rig, and since I already have the 4 bays filled with HDDs (and that can't change right now), I was looking into PCIe options.

    Specifically I'm seeing some great drives from OCZ — the RevoDrive series. Since they're fairly new technology and my Mac is now fairly old, I'm wondering if there are any compatibility/performance issues I should be aware of as I'm considering the purchase? I can't seem to see any particular reason why they wouldn't work, but I'm also hoping to get some feedback from you folks if anyone happens to have one of these babies in a similar setup.

    I'd really appreciate your thoughts!
     
  2. Honbe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #2
    OCZ Revo Drives are currently not supported under OSX, unfortunately.
     
  3. Mathazzar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mathazzar

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Well crap.

    In that case I guess I need to look into a more spacious option and toss it into my lower optical bay. I hear OWC makes good ones and is generally friendlier to Mac folks — is that a good brand to go with or is there currently a better producer out there? Peak performance and fairly large capacity are my priority. Looks like I'll have to keep researching...

    Thank you very much for the prompt and helpful response though!
     
  4. Honbe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #4
    NP. You may want to do some research before making the purchase. There is a lot info on this forum.
    Specifically look at SandForce based SSDs vs. others (Intel, Marvel based,...), SATA 2 vs. SATA 3, trim support / garbage collection, etc.
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    You can buy a third-party RAID controller, and then buy SSDs and slot them in random places in your chassis.
     

Share This Page