Question on Audio Speakers and the way iMac controls audio PLEASE HELP!!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iRobby, May 15, 2011.

  1. iRobby, May 15, 2011
    Last edited: May 15, 2011

    iRobby macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #1
    I want to get the Harmon Kardon SoundSticks III a few months after I get my 27" iMac. Here are two videos of them I found:

    Review: Harman Kardon Soundsticks III

    Harman Kardon Soundsticks III Review

    My question about getting them has to do with how Mac OS X or more importantly, if it let's you choose your audio output. The reason I ask is because these speakers do not have a headset jack which is fine because I use USB headsets. (Also, the speakers that came with my computer do not have jacks either the jack is in the tower which I NEVER use).

    However, I am curious how Mac OSX will or IF IT will let me switch back and forth from the speakers to the headset.

    Below are two photos of how I currently switch back and forth from the speakers to the headset on my Dell Dimension E 510 PC. I'm hoping that the iMac will let me do the same

    Headset Setting:

    [​IMG]

    Speakers Setting:

    [​IMG]

    Again, I am hoping that with the iMac I can continue using the same USB headset and get these Harmon Kardon Soundsticks III. Any help would be most appreciated
     
  2. iRobby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #2
    I really could use some assistance. Any help would be most appreciated

    Thank You!
     
  3. Robsor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Hey,

    I know à program where you can switch between your externen speakers and your iMac speakers. Its called RogueAmeba, just google it. I don't know of it wil work with USB headsets though, you could give it a try.
    Owh and I got the soundsticks III and they are amazing!
    Hopefully this works for you.
    Regards
     
  4. tsugaru, May 16, 2011
    Last edited: May 16, 2011

    tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #4
    System Preferences -> Sound -> Output.

    No different than in Windows.
    Doesn't matter if the device is an analog 3.5mm / digital 3.5mm / USB / Firewire audio device.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. iRobby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #5
    THANK YOU!!! I assumed this was true. I just wanted to make sure before getting the SoundSticks. I was reading another thread where the OP asked for external speaker advice. When I recommended these he was qiuck to say that even though he liked them he couldn'rt use them due to no headset jack at times so he didn't disturb others in the house. So I got worried. Thanks again!

    Can't wait to get my:

    *27"iMac

    *Harman Kardon SoundSticks II

    *Macessity LowKey Stand w/integrated USB2 4-Port Hub - Designed just for the Apple slim USB keyboard
     
  6. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #6
    You're welcome.

    I don't know what people's fascination with the SoundSticks are. I had them for about 2 days. For the price, you get much better speakers in the Logitech Z-2300. Louder (if you want,) cleaner all across the range, and a better breakout box (allows you to adjust bass, volume, power on/off, and a headphone jack.)

    Plus, dust will be a pain the arse to clean out of the sub over time. My old iSub got fairly nasty after 5 years of service.
     
  7. iRobby thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iRobby

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL USA
    #7
    Thank you again, I'll look those up maybe I'll find them as cheap as the Soundsticks ($129)
     
  8. tsugaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Edmonton
    #8
    Logitech doesn't make them anymore. They replaced them with the Z-623, which aren't as good. I'm sure you can find a retailer that still may have one in stock though.
     

Share This Page