Carrier Question on bringing an iphone to Sprint

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by OneMike, May 9, 2016.

  1. OneMike macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #1
    First, I contacted Sprint and they said in chat it could be done in store. Info varies though depending on who you speak to anywhere. Just trying to get confirmation maybe from one who did it.

    The plan is to give my mother who lives in New York my iPhone 6S plus. I live in Miami so going to the store and doing myself is not an option right now.

    This is an unlocked T mobile version 6S plus. Was purchased full price from apple so never actually tied to carrier. From what I read there is mixed info, but more that it will work.

    CS said would just need to go to the store and get a SIM.

    Just trying to confirm to avoid shipping if it won't work.

    Some threads say it work. Others it won't. Need specific SIM. Specific device. Etc.. Any info is appreciated.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Yes, you need the specific Sprint SIM for the device.

    But in general, since Sprint does not have the IMEIs of non-Sprint phones in their network whitelist you have to have someone who knows what they are doing add it.

    You want a rep to do a Clickit ticket for you to add the IMEI. At that point the phone is allow and the SIM will then give you service.

    Just tell them you need a Clickit ticket to add the IMEI. Some of the frontline idiot CSRs won't have a freaking clue about it so you'll need to find someone who does.

    I don't believe they can do those kinds of tickets in store. But things may have changed. I left seven months ago.
     
  3. rzc16512 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #3
    Those tickets are actually for certified android devices such as the nexus phones to be added to the database. But yes, they can do it in store. They will need to use the DNA2 tool to do it. Also, they can do it over the phone as that's what I did. Make sure you go to a sprint owned store and not an authorized retailer.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Thank you for that clarification!
     
  5. rigormortis, May 9, 2016
    Last edited: May 9, 2016

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #5
    if its an unlocked t-mobile 6s or 6s plus it should work. you need to go to their sprint stores and ask them to check the imei. you can also do this via facebook. if they say the fine with the imei / meid , then go ahead and ship it.

    if the imei / meid passes their tests, there are no other tools necessary to activate the sim card.

    i bought the same model as yours, and it took sprit 70 days to white list it after apple released it.
    now all the a1687 and a1688 models are white listed. as a bonus feature, the unlocked AT&T versions a1633 and a1634 should work also, but you will need of course to check the meid / imei also

    the iPhone 6 is backwards. its AT&T - t-mobile and verizon on one model and a special whitelisted sprint version with 4 extra channels. this time around its now t-moible verizon and sprint - with AT&T getting their special model with 1 extra channel . and this unlocked AT&T model also includes everything else in the other model
     
  6. OneMike thread starter macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #6
    Thanks for the feedback everyone!

    I'm going to contact them again and work to get everything confirmed / taken care of.

    I will provide an update.
     
  7. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    I was under the impression that you couldn't use another carrier specific iPhone with Sprint because of the CDMA bands they used. Is this not the case?
     
  8. rzc16512 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #8
    This was before the 6. All iPhones before the 4 were gsm only. The 4 came in GSM or CDMA. The 4S and newer have both but GSM carriers had the CDMA part disabled. The 6 and newer have both radios enabled and will work as long as the phone is whitelisted on the carrier and the sim slot is unlocked for domestic use. Also, the Verizon 5S is allowed onto Sprint's network for some reason but not the 5.
     
  9. Armen, May 9, 2016
    Last edited: May 9, 2016

    Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Correct any mistakes in the following statements for me:

    the iPhone 4S introduced a "world" phone which meant it could work on CDMA or GSM networks.

    Sprint's Network is CDMA only. Since it uses a special spectrum a Verizon based iPhone will not work with Sprint's Network even though both phones have CDMA radios.

    AT&T and T-Mobile are both GSM networks:

    A Verizon/Sprint iPhone can work on both of these networks using GSM if the phone is unlocked.

    I don't see how a T-mobile iPhone can work with Sprint unless all CDMA networks are standard now?
     
  10. eyoungren, May 9, 2016
    Last edited: May 9, 2016

    eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    The Verizon 5S is unlocked out of the box. It just needs to be added. Every iPhone from the 5 on has LTE, which is a GSM technology.

    But the Sprint 5 cannot be domestic unlocked while the 5c and above can.
    --- Post Merged, May 9, 2016 ---
    Sprint, like most of the carriers now has LTE.

    LTE is a GSM technology. CDMA on both Verizon and Sprint are is used for calling/texting.

    The biggest hinderance between usage on the carriers now when it concerns LTE is the bands that are being used.

    Sprint has LTE Bands 25, 26 and 41. If a phone on Sprint does not have those LTE bands there is no service.

    Hope that helps.
    --- Post Merged, May 9, 2016 ---
    If you still aren't getting anywhere…

    Marci Carris
    SVP, Customer Management at Sprint
    Marci@Sprint.com
    https://twitter.com/marcicarris
     
  11. rzc16512 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #11
    It doesn't matter if they are standard. They all have the same exact GSM and CDMA technologies built into the phone regardless of carrier its just before the 6 the CDMA radios were disabled in the factory for GSM carrier branded phones. However, the models have different LTE bands.
     

Share This Page