Question on Parallels installation

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by dcaccount, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. dcaccount macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #1
    Hello,

    I would like to try Parallels but I have read that the installer installs some unwanted software (I do not recall the name of the added software).

    Is there a way to install the only Parallels?

    I would not like to flood my Mac with software that I do not need.

    Thanks a lot,

    daniele
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    To be honest, I never heard of that. The last thing I heard about Parallels is that it shows Ads which can be distasteful for a commercial application. I don't know if version 10 does this but prior versions did.

    I'd say just monitor what's getting installed and delete any apps in the application folder that you don't want. I suspect anything that is install is needed for parallels.
     
  3. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  4. dcaccount thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #4
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    You're right, I forgot about Parallel's Access app/service. Not being a current user of Parallels I forgotten about that.

    I'd say based on their press release I'd say it gets installed.
    Here's a kb article on uninstalling it
    http://kb.parallels.com/en/117142

    There may be an option to opt out at installation time of the is app, but I have no idea since I'm a VMware Fusion user.
     
  6. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    I'm running PD10 Beta. There was an option to opt out when I installed.
     
  7. AbingdonBod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #7
    My recollection, having installed Parallels on my MacBook Pro recently, is that you simply opt out of Parallels Access during installation. It wasn't a problem anyway.
     
  8. BobertKennedy macrumors member

    BobertKennedy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    #8
    You don't have install anything additional, just opt-out.
     

Share This Page