Question on restore

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Nhwhazup, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. Nhwhazup macrumors 68000

    Nhwhazup

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #1
    I was at the Apple Store today for the camera recall.

    They also did a diagnostics which showed some problem with RAM memory. The Genius told me it was not a big deal but to fix it - restore the phone through iTunes and then download my apps back.

    Can someone tell me the steps to do this?
     
  2. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    Plug the device into iTunes. Go to the Summary tab where it shows the picture of the iPhone, etc. Click Restore.

    Did the genius say to set it up as new or set it up from a backup?
     
  3. Nhwhazup thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nhwhazup

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #3
    He didn't say. I guess I need a restore but then I need to restore again to backup in order to retrieve my data and apps, right?
     
  4. Nhwhazup thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nhwhazup

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    New Hampshire
  5. Nhwhazup thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nhwhazup

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #5
    I'm thinking I need to restore to new but then I also don't want to lose any of my data.
     
  6. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #6
    Try just restoring with with you data first. If that does not work you can return and do it as new.
     

Share This Page