Question on restoring from Time Machine Backup

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by FrankFamularo, Sep 7, 2009.

  1. FrankFamularo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Mississauga, Ontario
    #1
    I upgraded a Harddrive from 80g to 320. Partioned the drive & tried to restore the latest backup. Question is, do I need to install the operating system from the install CD's before I can restore from my backup? I thought you can restore from Time Machine Backup & it no need to do a first time install.
    I am using a IBM Laptop to post this, & I am grumpy, so I need my mac back.
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    You have to install the OS first, and then use Time Machine or Migration Assistant to restore all the data and settings after. Unless the OS is already installed, then you should be able to restore to a specific date.
     
  3. FrankFamularo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Mississauga, Ontario
    #3
    ok thanks appreciate the prompt reply

    appreciate it..
     
  4. fehhkk macrumors 6502a

    fehhkk

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    You can also boot from the DVD, and use Disk Utility to restore your TM backup right before you install the OS. Works either way.

    Restoring with TM after the OS is fully install gives you a little more flexibility, though, which lets you choose which files to restore.
     
  5. FrankFamularo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Mississauga, Ontario
    #5
    that is what I had tried to do, & could not get it to work... In the process of installing the OS now. Will try it shortly. Fingers crossed.
     
  6. FrankFamularo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Mississauga, Ontario
    #6

    When I insert the Leopard install disk and boot off of it & select Utilities, I dont get an option to "Restore System from Backup...". If I click on the external drive, I do see the contents of the latest backup of this morning. rrrr.:mad:
     
  7. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #7
    Pretty sure you run "Migration Assistant" after the installation is complete. It'll come up on your first boot cycle.
     
  8. FrankFamularo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Mississauga, Ontario
    #8
    putting back my old drive

    May be the Backup software is weak. What other backup software can be used... Is there a shareware or trial software anyone that anyone may have tried & works well.
     
  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #9
    Just use somehing like superduper or carbocopycloner. They are both free.
     

Share This Page