Question on Templates

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by yk2366, Feb 9, 2011.

1. yk2366, Feb 9, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 9, 2011

yk2366 macrumors member

I'm fairly new to web designing and I just semi-completed my first project on iweb. I am starting to realize how limited it is, so I wanted to use dreamweaver for my next project.

I am trying to build a dental website, and I wanted to know: is it fairly easy to learn my way around in personalizing my website with an already-made template? I don't think I have enough experience to create something that looks as professional as those templates sold online for $69. I just didn't know how hard it would be for me to learn my way around dreamweaver so I thought I would ask before jumping into the purchase.

I also thought it was better and cheaper for me to do this than to pay a $29/month on solution21, which customizes everything for you. But they said they would also have to charge me $499 just to upgrade to a different template than the one I'm using now, thus my attempt to create my own from a different company. Is it normal to charge this much?

Thanks in advance!

anyone? Can anyone tell me if this site would be safe to buy?

http://templates.entheosweb.com/Dentist.asp

2. londonweb macrumors 6502

londonweb

IMO if you are thinking about web building in the long term you should steer clear of any sort of WYSIWYG editors and get stuck into learning barebones HTML and CSS - there's never been a better time to get started as HTML 5 and CSS3 are becoming widely supported by new browsers and they allow you to do a lot of cool things that weren't possible before.

The trouble with using Dreamweaver and those kind of applications is that they are always going to limit what you can do, and you'll hit the limit of the software much sooner than you hit the limit of what HTML/CSS can do.