Question on Time Machine

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by dcaccount, Oct 20, 2014.

  1. dcaccount macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #1
    Hello,

    I have just noticed that when you open Time Machine to recover one file, you can not move among the favorites folders of the left hand side of the finder (Documents, Download, etc.) but you remain "stuck" on the Desktop folder.

    The only way I found to find a file is to browse the Mac hard disk.

    Is that normal or am I doing something wrong? Please advise.

    Thanks,
    daniele
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2
    What you are seeing appears to be the norm for the "New TM".
    I've seen this behaviour since I first started the Public Betas of Yosemite.
    If I try different approaches I find that I can eventually get to the data I want, but it sure is different, not better but different!
     
  3. Risco macrumors 68000

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Yes, this is exactly what I am seeing! Such a stupid idea if it is meant to be!
     
  4. jfischer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #4
    Hmmm. I see all my folders on the side (music, photos, applications, downloads, documents, etc) and can select any of them and see the contents from any point in my TM.

    Edit: I am using a USB 3.0 external hard drive for TM for what it's worth.
     
  5. dcaccount thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #5
    I am also using an USB 3.0 hard drive but I can not select any folder on the left hand side of the finder.
     
  6. whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #6
    Try entering Time Machine via the launchpad->Other. Don't know why but subfolders work from there.
     
  7. Risco macrumors 68000

    Risco

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    I am using a WD Mybook Live.
     
  8. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #8
    It is working fine for me.

    If I have no finder windows open and click on Enter Time Machine from the icon in the status bar I get the Desktop open.

    I am free to click on any of the favourites on the left. The folder changed to reflect the one I have clicked on just as you would expect.

    Have I got the wrong end of the stick?

    I have a 4TB Seagate USB 3 drive for TM.
     
  9. Merode macrumors 6502

    Merode

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #9
    "Cmd + shift + g" to "/" and then move up where you want. This is how I do it nowadays, because sidebar is not working.
     
  10. dcaccount thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #10
    Actually I can move across the folders on the left unless I move across the backups on the right.

    In other words, If I click on a folder different from "desktop", I can not move across the backups.

    If I move across the backup, I can not move from "desktop" folder.

    This is my experience.

    Anyone else has this issue?
     
  11. whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #11
    Did you try entering via Launchpad->Other->Time Machine?
     
  12. dcaccount thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    #12
    Yes!

    Try to change the folder from "desktop" to another one.

    You should not be able to move across the back ups.
     
  13. jfischer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    #13
    Thanks for jinxing me :) Now my TM isn't doing squat. Can't move back and forth through the timeline at all.

    Fortunately it seems that I can still browse the TM backups through Finder itself, but the GUI-based TM does seem to be buggy at times. Occasionally it works fine, but other times it is just broken.
     
  14. whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #14
    Okay I see what you mean. Does seem like its a fubar. Does searching at least work? Gotta send Apple a bug report.
     
  15. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #15
    At times my experience is like yours, else every once in a while it seems to work somewhat like you'd expect.
    What I'm saying is you never know what to expect, you just have to poke around until you can find what you need.
    I'm sure this is not how Apple meant it to work as past versions worked perfectly, I'd really like to see this get fixed or at least get some continuity.
    Until such times as I can trust TM I've got CCC doing auto clones on a 4 hour schedule.
     
  16. whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #16
    Do what I just did and submit a feedback report to Apple.
     
  17. whsbuss, Oct 20, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2014

    whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #17
    I wonder if its an issue for those using a network-type drive (WD MyCloud here)? Anyone using a time capsule with this problem?

    EDIT: had the same issue with a 1TB USB drive connected to my Asus RT-AC68R router w/Time Machine enabled.
     

Share This Page