Question on Vmare Fusion on Mac Book

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by tttexxan, May 5, 2009.

  1. tttexxan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #1
    I am a photographer looking at using an ordering proofing system for prints but only works with windows machines. I have looked into using VMware Fusion along with vista. At any given time I have large amounts of photos on my drives and laptop.

    My question is how much space do you need to allow for the Fusion and Vista to run on New Mac Book 17 inch?? Basically only using the windows system to access their ordering system and then disconnecting when completed.
     
  2. theITGuy macrumors 6502a

    theITGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    chasing the ghost in the machine
    #2
    From Microsoft:

    Vista Home
    20 GB hard drive with at least 15 GB of available space

    Vista Premium/Ultimate
    40 GB hard drive with at least 15 GB of available space

    I have Windows 7 on Fusion on a 40GB partition to be safe...

    Cheers.

    -J.-
     
  3. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #3
    When you setup your VMWare virtual machine, it asks you how big you want the C: drive to be.

    Windows will always see the size of the C: as whatever you typed in there, but on your Mac, the file will only be as big as the data you have on the C: drive.

    So if you made a new Vista virtual machine with a 100GB C: drive, after you installed Vista, if you looked at the size of the virtual machine on your Mac, it'd probably only be around 15GB.

    As you copy more data to the C: drive of your virtual machine, the file size on your Mac will increase.

    It's pretty cool, IMO. :)

    Having said that, like theITguy did, I always go with a 40GB C: drive. The file rarely grows to be over 20GB, but I like knowing I have the space there to do stuff if I need it.
     
  4. elgrecomac macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #4
    And don't forget this critical component....

    Re: disk space - I use 40 gb but if you are only planning to run 1 app, you can get away with 15 - 20gb of disk space. BUT....

    Vmware Fusion LOVES RAM...lots of RAM. So if you have a 2gb MBP, spend about $100 and upgrade to 4gb. You will thank me later.

    BTW...fusion is great. :cool:
     
  5. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    It's not Fusion that loves RAM, it's Windows, and virtualization in general. You are running two (or more) operating systems simultaneously, and therefore have to fulfill the memory requirements for both. I also would recommend having at least 3-4GB of RAM.
     
  6. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #6
    My Vista partition is 64 Gb and runs fine under both Boot Camp and Fusion.
     

Share This Page