Question re: Bioshock 2 and iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by fattmik, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. fattmik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #1
    I was wondering if people could help me out. I just bought Bioshock 2 for PC, and I am trying to find the best way to run it on my iMac (the i5 core duo 27 inch). I realize that Bootcamp comes bundled with Leopard, but I wanted to do my best to insure that I don't get viruses, and that whatever system I use it will run the game optimally. Would it be better to run it on Bootcamp or spring for VMware Fusion 3?
     
  2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Bootcamp will provide better performance. With a virtual machine, you're running 2 operating systems, which naturally degrades performance.
     
  3. fattmik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. So how much space should I give each operating system? Any other advice when partitioning my system?
     
  4. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #5
    Use bootcamp.

    Be smart about what you do on Windows. Don't click pop ups, don't open email attachments you dont trust, ect

    Its not like your turn on a Windows computer and get bombarded with viruses. I don't use a virus scanner 24/7 (Besides MS Security Essentials) Though I will download and scan my computer every few months and have yet to get anything.
     
  5. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #6
    Actually, if all the OP wants to do is play Bioshock 2, don't even access the internet at all from Windows (except to activate Windows and update the game, maybe); if you aren't out there, it can't get you....
     
  6. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #7
    Yeah, you're not going to get a virus simply by having Windows.
     
  7. fattmik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #8
    Appreciate the help. Yea, I'm not expecting to use the internet over windows - I basically am looking to use it to play PC games.
     
  8. Dan73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #9
    Then just don't use internet, you can just disable it.

    But if you want to do some quick browsing it would kind of be a PITA to reboot and go to OS X. But seriously you won't get a virus by just booting into windows, or even web browsing :D

    Have fun and enjoy BioShock 2, playing ME2 at the moment :)
     

Share This Page