Question regarding Canon FD lenses/EOS-FD adapters...

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by ravendhi, May 27, 2011.

1. ravendhi macrumors member

ravendhi

I realize and freely admit that I am a pathetic n00b, so I beg patience from the more experienced members of this board........

I just got my first dSLR, a T2i (sold my Fuji HS20 and several other things), but only have the kit lens (18-55mm).

Today at work, a coworker mentioned that she has a "bunch of old stuff" from her father that she'd like to get rid of and there are some camera lenses. She helpfully brought them to me this evening to play with. They are older lenses, all FD mount.

Now, I'm new to photography in general and certainly new to the world of dSLRs and lenses, etc... so I don't know if these things are good, bad, or even worth mentioning. There are 4 lenses in total. I know enough to know that one is a macro, and one is a zoom, but I haven't a clue about the other two.

In all she has:
    Macro Lens FD 50mm 1 : 3.5 S.S.C
    Zoom Lens FD 100-200mm 1 : 5.6 S.C.
    FD 35mm 1 : 2 S.S.C
    FD 55mm 1 : 1.2 S.S.C

She's willing to let me have them just to get them out of her way, as she's never had any interest in learning to use them at all. There's no way I can afford new glass right now, so this is really my only chance in the foreseeable future to own anything other than the kit lens (and for the price, hey, who could complain). Peering through with the naked eye, all the glass seems to be in excellent condition and the bodies of the lenses don't have a mark on them.

Would it be worth my time to buy an EOS/FD adapter for my T2i and use these lenses? Ebay them? Use them as flower pots?

2. TheReef, May 27, 2011
    Last edited: May 27, 2011

TheReef macrumors 68000

TheReef

The FD lenses won't focus to infinite on your camera, you'll need corrective optics to fix this - it usually isn't worth your while.