Question regarding intel 750 400gb SSD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by buster84, May 12, 2015.

  1. buster84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    #1
    I found this for $409 on NewEgg and its an NVMe drive which is good. I also found an sm951 on newegg for $240 (plus the expansion card on amazon for $30).

    I dont really need over 1k writes so thats not an issue. Right now im looking at it like this

    Intel 400GB NVMe (2k Read 900M Write) = $409
    Sm951 256GB ACHI (2k Read 1.5k Write) = 240+ $30 (adapter) = $270. So for $139 more i get an extra 144GB of space which would be perfect to split with bootcamp.

    I searched but couldnt find the answer. Does anyone know if this intel SSD (SSDPEDMW400G4R5) will be able to boot osx?
     
  2. jmiddel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Location:
    Land of Enchantment
  3. buster84, May 12, 2015
    Last edited: May 12, 2015

    buster84 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    #3
    Ok good to know, now i just need to decide what to buy.

    edit: I went ahead and got the sm951 256gb. I figured id save some cash and get the cheaper sm951 since i needed two drives for 2 computers i came out to saving a few hundred in the end. Thanks for the help.
     
  4. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #4
    german IT magazine "c't" wrote that they were unable to get the intel 750 to work in a Mac...
     
  5. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
  6. jimj740 macrumors regular

    jimj740

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Location:
    Pining for the company that once gave us Clarus
    #6
    Link please? I tried this without success.
    -JimJ
     
  7. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #7
    they didn't post this online. I read it in the printed issue (11/2015 page 98).
     
  8. Lucas Godfrey, May 13, 2015
    Last edited: May 13, 2015

    Lucas Godfrey macrumors 6502

    Lucas Godfrey

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere between Here and There
    #8
    i just received two of these and chucked one of them in my mac pro, lights up the LEDs on the back, but doesn't appear to the system at all.. I'm running 10.10.3 and the nvme section in system profiler is blank.. :(

    if theres some kinda trick I'm missing, then its not obvious. bit gutted actually. will probably have to return them.
     
  9. buster84 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    #9
    Oh wow. This makes me glad that I changed my mind at the last minute. I almost bought it from newegg on eBay but the lack of being able to return it to newegg made me change my mind. I would have tried it if Amazon had it in stock but they had a 3 week wait before they got it in stock.
     
  10. mugwump macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    #10
    NVMe requires specific chips in the motherboard to work. Even most hackintoshes can't use it except for a couple of specific motherboard versions.

    NVMe is supported in the most recent Yosemite update, but perhaps only the newest MacBook Pro 13" retina can run it.
     
  11. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #11
    no, there are no specific chips required. but the intel 750 needs a mainboard running with UEFI.
     
  12. Lucas Godfrey macrumors 6502

    Lucas Godfrey

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere between Here and There
    #12
    thats it then. cMP doesn't support these cards. I can return one of them I guess, the other one I opened and tested so all I can do is sell it.
     
  13. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #13
    Plain & simple..

    You need this, btw the best mac option at the moment

    :apple:

    http://www.sonnettech.com/product/tempopciessd.html
     
  14. dmylrea macrumors 68000

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #14
    What makes this "the best mac option"? For roughly $470 you can get (basically) the same thing with a Samsung SM951 and a Lycom PCI-e adapter card. This thing? $799??? I don't see any advantages of the Sonnet card over anything else, except for draining my wallet faster.

    Also, the SM951 is about 1400MB/s vs. 1100MB/s for the Sonnet.
     
  15. Synchro3, May 17, 2015
    Last edited: May 17, 2015

    Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #15
  16. ibuick macrumors newbie

    ibuick

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Location:
    Beijing
    #16
    I just bought an Intel 750 400GB SSD with a Akitio Thunder2 PCIe Box

    Unfortunately, It doesn't work under OS X 10.10.3, 10.10.4 (Beta) and 10.11 (EI Capitan).

    But,,,, OS X can recognize this NVMe SSD in its System Profiler and IORegistryExploper. It marked this device as NVMe Controller and showed the status as Driver NOT Installed.

    As we know from OS X 10.10.3, Apple added a IONVMeFamily.kext for its own implementation in NMB, so, I think Apple will (not for long) add support for those generic NVMe SSD Controllers.

    BTW, I bought a SAMSUNG m951 (AHCI) with a M.2 to PCIe card today, I will test it then I will come and update this thread.
     
  17. ibuick macrumors newbie

    ibuick

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Location:
    Beijing
    #17
    Well, I'm Back with Samsung SM951 SSD in a Akitio Thunder2 PCIe Box

    It works like a charm. Apparently, the new MacBook Pro Retina 2015 also use this SSD, a "traditional" AHCI Controller SSD.

    The main limitation are the PCIe 2.0 x4 Interface in the Box and Thunderbolt 2, this SSD is originally designed for PCIe 3.0 x4.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. flowrider, Sep 7, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2015

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #18

Share This Page