question regarding macbook pro ram

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by magius, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. magius macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #1
    hi all, i'm planning on buying a macbook pro in the near future, i am just curious - if I were to upgrade my ram (from whatever default the update may have), what would be the best solution? Ordering it off the net upgraded seems a little costly - do you really get what you pay for in this case, or are their more cost effective methods resulting in the same product? If so could someone perhaps help me out? I am completely clueless at the moment when it comes to apple products, and computer hardware in general.

    any help would be very appreciated! thank you.
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    Don't order direct from apple, you'll pay over the odds. I like to use otherworldcomputing.com for all my RAM needs, and so do a bunch of other people I know.
     
  3. Kermit the frog macrumors regular

    Kermit the frog

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    I also use otherworldcomputing.com they are very good
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Choose RAM from a reputable seller who guarantees compatibility with your model Mac, offers a lifetime warranty, and a no-cost return if it doesn't work.

    The most-often recommended US vendors on MR are OWC (macSales), Data Memory Systems (www.datamem.com) and Crucial (use the link at the top of the page)

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  5. magius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #5
    do they ship to canada?

    would this http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Micron/53DDR2MICP2G/ be the right option?

    i'm unsure what all the numbers mean, does this mean 2 sticks of ram, 1 gig each? or 2 sticks of ram, 2 gigs each (totalling 4 gigs - which is the max for the current incarnation, although it only really uses 3, is that right?)? I am looking to up my ram as high as possible as I'll be using fcp and aftereffects fairly intensively.

    i've installed ram in a tower, is it basically the same routine? also would applecare still apply if i did open up the unit to install the ram?

    thanks a lot for the responses, btw.
     
  6. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6
    That is 2 1 gig sticks
     
  7. magius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #7
  8. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #8
  9. magius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #9
    that looks good as well, thanks. i guess i'll have to wait and see whether the new mbp can handle more than 3.

    which brand does the original mbp use? and does applecare apply if i replace it?
     
  10. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #10
    Apple buys its RAM from several manufacturers. Mostly Samsung I think.

    RAM is a user installable part, so it does not void your warranty. Although it is always advisable that if you need to send it in for repair that you remove the 3rd party RAM and leave just the RAM that came with the MBP in.
     
  11. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #11
    I'd personally (if you live in Canada) go with CanadaRAM's website.
     
  12. magius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #12
    i'm unsure why the samsung 2gb would be more expensive than the ocw 3gb while on the surface having the same specs. nike syndrome?
     
  13. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #13
    yeah, paying for the name
     
  14. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #14
    Apple overcharges for RAM because they want to make more money. Installing your own RAM does not void any warranty or Applecare (Apple won't guarantee your third party RAM, but the RAM will come with a lifetime manufacturer's warranty)

    They buy their RAM directly from the manufacturers, mostly Hynix, Samsung and Micron. The brand is really immaterial, so long as the seller tests and guarantees it for compatibility. All compatible MacBook Pro RAM performs at exactly the same speed.
     
  15. magius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #15
    alright, thanks a lot for your help!! i'm just trying to cover all points before buying my first apple computer! anyway, thanks again.

    anything else i should know, or thread i should read?
     

Share This Page