Question: Will the 2015 Macbook Air run Logic ....

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by td2243, Nov 14, 2015.

  1. td2243 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    #1
    So, I have a late 2013 iMac that I use for the brunt of everything, but I'd really like a laptop in the next 6 months. Will an 8GB 2015 Macbook Air run Logic Pro X smoothly? I'd alway have Kontakt running with some libraries going.

    I just want something to compose on while I'm on trips out of town. I know it won't run like a maxed out iMac, but will it do the trick? I'd really appreciate some advice from maybe people who run Logic Pro X on a Laptop.

    Thanks
     
  2. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
  3. td2243 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    #3
    Thank you. You've been incredibly helpful.
     
  4. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #4
    No problem :)
     
  5. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68020

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #5
    I run Logic Studio 9 on my mid-2012 11" MBA. While I don't use third party plugins, I'm able to record guitar, bass and keys live while playing a drum track for timing. This is while using an external 24" 1080p display and touch OSC connecting Logic to my iPad.

    This isn't Logic X, but should give you an idea of the usability of the air with music programs.
     
  6. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #6
    I run Logic 9 on my 2013 11" i7/8gb/512gb MBA with no problems. My use of Logic is very basic though, recording 4 tracks of live music through microphones. It also ran fine on my 2011 MBA.
     
  7. td2243 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Fe, NM
    #7
    Thanks a bunch. I think I'd be safe for what I'm doing.
     

Share This Page