Question with VNC / remote connect

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dpace32, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. dpace32 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #1
    Hello -

    I recently purchased my first Mac (2.4ghz Macbook) and am trying to remote connect to my XP machine using RealVNS and the Mac's built in "connect to server" feature" build into OS X. Usually when I am on my XP machine I can connect to another XP machine using VNS by typing in the computers name such as "Dell531" but on the mac I noticed I have to type in the IP address such as "vnc://192.168.1.15". The problem is that the IP addresses usually change after the machine is rebooted and I rather reference the computer by its name. is there anyway I can make the Mac recognize the computer name instead of the IP address?

    Thanks!
     
  2. nplima macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Well, if that does not break the rest of your network configuration, you could assign fixed IPs to each of your computers even if your router is working as a DHCP server. That way you could edit the HOSTS files on each machine to assign a name to each IP without using a DNS server.
     
  3. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #3
    ^ yes, most computers use dynamic IP address, just make use a particular single IP address and your set. of course, this is assuming it won't cause havoc with the rest of the network configuration...
     
  4. dpace32 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #4
    So there is no way to make it recognize the computer by its name?
     

Share This Page