Question

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by shaun21gb, Nov 21, 2014.

  1. shaun21gb macrumors member

    shaun21gb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    sydney NSW
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Just bought a G5 1.8GHz with no graphics card.

    Can anybody tell me what card go's in as all the ones i have will not fit ??

    I have tried the one out my other mac and the one out my 2 mac pro's but no good .

    So i need help please or if anybody has one for sale at the right price.
     
  2. repentix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    #2
    You need a mac edition agp card.
     
  3. shaun21gb thread starter macrumors member

    shaun21gb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    sydney NSW
    #3
    Thanks

    OK thanks for the info , i think i will need to go on the hunt on the internet.:apple:
     
  4. Zotaccian macrumors 6502a

    Zotaccian

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #4
    If you cannot find one you could try flashing a PC card. As far as I know GeForce FX 5200 is one of the easiest ones to flash, I once flashed FX 5500 which is essentially same chip as FX 5200 but with slightly higher clocks. After flashing it identified itself as FX 5200 on Mac and worked fine.

    More info here: http://themacelite.wikidot.com/

    But of course genuine Mac Edition for that model is the most certain.
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    The GEForce FX 5200 is relatively available, as this was the "stock" card in many G5 systems.

    The Mac edition of this card has a blue circuit board and is passively cooled(i.e. no fan on the GPU). It will have two ports-one a standard DVI port, and the other an ADC(Apple Display Connector) port-this looks sort of like a DVI port(and actually mostly is) but has a sort of oval shape as well as "hooks" rather than screw standoffs to secure the cable.

    I just checked on Ebay, and there are a couple of Mac-edition FX5200s available for $10-20

    Overall, this is not a great card-especially for OS X 10.5-but is workable.

    Depending on how much you want to sink into it, there are better cards available, although the Mac edition of many of them will set you back a fair bit.

    Here's a full list
    http://www.jcsenterprises.com/Japamacs_Page/Blog/4B4B7BA2-7ABB-47F1-87AC-B03D37942BEE.html

    I have a GEForce 6800 Ultra in one of my G5s, and have been incredibly happy with it. I paid about $50 for it(Mac edition, not flashed). As this was a build to order option, it's probably the most plentiful "high end" OEM G5 card. The Mac edition X800 and X850 generally bring well over $100. By the way, Mac edition X800 and 850s have one ADC and one DVI port(the 6800 Ultra has dual DVI).
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    An ATI Radeon 9600 XT or Pro would be good for that machine. In my opinion, they are the best balance of affordability and power for these machines. The baseline Nvidia FX5200 does not support all of the instructions that OS X Leopard uses so you would lose the translucent menu bar and some minor effects.
     
  7. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    Good point-I just bought an XT a few minutes ago for $23 on Ebay.

    I'm planning on modifying it for a Quicksilver or MDD(one of the least expensive ways to get true core image support on these computers), but it is an OEM G5 card and will drop right in and work with no trouble.
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    I have used one to run dual monitors under Leopard with great performance.
     
  9. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #9
    I'm using a 64mb GeForce4 MX in my Quicksilver to run a 17" ADC and a 23" 1680x1050. It works okay under Leopard, but I can definitely feel at times that I'm taxing the card.

    I also have a GeForce 4 Ti on the way(the second I've bought-the first was DOA) so will have to decide if I want to just drop the Ti in and have it work, or if I really want to mess with the 9600 to get it to work and keep using my ADC display. Having core image with the 9600 is really appealing for Leopard.
     
  10. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #10
    My DP G5 has a 9600 Pro as well, and I just put a dual monitor set-up on it. It doesn't seem to stress the system, and it works just fine.
     
  11. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #11
    If you disable BeamSync they are very smooth on animations as well.
     
  12. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #12
    How do I disable that? (and how so?).
     
  13. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #13

    You can either use the Secrets preference pane or follow the instructions in the Leopard speed improvements guide that Intell, eyoungren, and I wrote.
     
  14. bunnspecial, Nov 23, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2014

    bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #14
    Can you post a link to that? I've searched but seem to not be able to find it. I know Intell has talked about machine-specific "tweaks" and I'd really like to go through all of mine and do what I can.

    EDIT:

    Nevermind, I found it

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1723868
     
  15. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #15
    That is it! I recommend that you read the whole thread as Intell posted some information in regards to what features are supported on certain GPUs.
     

Share This Page