Questions about installing Windows on my RMBP...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PhaserFuzz, Jul 7, 2012.

1. PhaserFuzz macrumors 6502

I am wanting to install Windows 7 on my RMBP using Bootcamp. I am doing this solely for gaming. I've never used bootcamp on any of my macs before, so I have a few questions. Thanks for any help!

1. Is THIS the version of Windows 7 I should purchase? Also, where is the cheapest place I can buy it?

2. How much space should I partition? I was thinking 75GB because I won't be doing anything other than gaming.

3. How does Windows 7 perform with the RMBP? Is there any software or drivers I need to download to make it compatible? Does it run well downscaled from 2880x1800? Or will OSX just take care of everything?

4. Kinda off topic, but how do I use my XBOX 360 controller with my RMBP?

Thanks!

2. snaky69 macrumors 603

1. So long as it's a retail (as in, not OEM) copy, you're good.

2. Depends on how much space your games take up, you'd be the best judge of that.

3. Not a clue. The trackpad is likely to be either very crappy to use or unusable. Windows' trackpad drivers suck. Forget about multi-touch too.

As far as graphics go, I'm not sure how it'll be managed by windows. Since it is resolution independent it should run fine. OS X won't take care of anything, as it won't be running. Bootcamp makes you run windows like you had a windows based PC.

4. AFAIK, that's not possible.

3. andybrown44 macrumors regular

The copy of Windows linked to is OEM

4. NMF macrumors 6502a

NMF