Questions about jailbreaking

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by omega23, Jul 22, 2010.

1. omega23 macrumors newbie

I am thinking about jailbreaking my iPod Touch 1st gen, but I have some questions before I do it cause I have never jailbroken something before and I'm new to this.

1. If I have a jailbroken iTouch, will I be able to download/buy apps from the iTunes store and install them on my iPod Touch, if so, can I play them online or locally in multiplayer with a non-jailbroken iTouch/iPhone? My brother has a non-jailbroken iPhone and we sometimes play locally in some multiplayer games.

2. Will I be able to use cracked apps online? For example: twitter, Skype, Messenger, WhatsApp and games with online multiplayer.

3. I know that some jailbroken iDevices offer apps to run in the background, but doesn't that drain the battery quickly? And doesn't it heat up the device a lot?

4. What jailbreaking software would you recommend for iPod Touch 1st gen? I have heard of Spirit, Blackra1n, RedSn0w, ZiPhone, iLiberty, QuickPwn, WinPwn.

5. I heard that some jailbreaking software permanently upgrades/downgrades your baseband. What is a baseband and can it be restored with the "Restore to factory settings" in iTunes?

I have Windows 7 64-bit on my computer. My iPod Touch is 1st gen, OS version is 3.1.3 and 16GB. My iTunes version is 9.2.

2. celticpride678

1) Yes and Yes
    2) Those applications are free - no need for cracked versions
    3) No Cydia application will automatically run in the background. You must download Backgrounder if you want it. I haven't noticed a significant battery drop with multitasking using Backgrounder
    4) QuickPwn
    5) Baseband is for iPhone's

3. omega23 thread starter macrumors newbie

What about apps that aren't free, like for example Monopoly. If I would have a cracked version of it, could I play it online or with my friends who have it purchased through the iTunes store?