Questions about Mac Mini with eGPU

zhu-

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 13, 2018
Hey everyone, been visiting this site for years but just finally registered.

I've been waiting for a new iMac all year and doesn't look like it will be coming. I might wait another few weeks incase they do a silent refresh but who knows.

Anyway, I'm in need of an upgrade from my 2016 13" MBP since it isn't powerful enough to handle two external 4k displays. Browsers and things tend to slow down quite significantly. I'm considering going with the Mac mini since the CPU is a huge improvement, along with an eGPU. I've never used an eGPU before so not sure exactly how it works. I'll be looking to run three 4k displays so have a few questions:
  • Does the monitors have to be plugged into the eGPU to have its processing power? Or would it pass through the Mac mini through my USB C to DP cables?
  • Would all graphics be sped up on the system as if the GPU was built into the machine or only applications specifically designed to use the eGPU like games, final cut, etc.?
  • Are only specific GPU's supported?
  • I plan on buying the Razer Core X enclosure and putting in an old Geforce 680 GTX no longer in use from another computer. Would this be compatible?
Thanks!

archer75

macrumors 68030
Jan 26, 2005
Oregon

I've been waiting for a new iMac all year and doesn't look like it will be coming. I might wait another few weeks incase they do a silent refresh but who knows.

Anyway, I'm in need of an upgrade from my 2016 13" MBP since it isn't powerful enough to handle two external 4k displays. Browsers and things tend to slow down quite significantly. I'm considering going with the Mac mini since the CPU is a huge improvement, along with an eGPU. I've never used an eGPU before so not sure exactly how it works. I'll be looking to run three 4k displays so have a few questions: