Questions about Mac performance/Ram?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jcnoob, Sep 15, 2008.

  1. jcnoob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #1
    hi, there! im a new user to macs and this forum. one day i downloaded a app called istat menus. i clicked monitor RAM, and i saw on the graph that 80% RAM is used! my school technicians made this a server mac, all 5000 students at my school could sign in to my mac. does this make my mac slower/use more ram?

    thx for answring:)
     
  2. jaikob macrumors 6502

    jaikob

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Freeland, MI
    #2
    Well, if its a file server, thats probably why 80% of it is used. How much ram is in the machine? You left that detail out.

    Welcome :)
     
  3. jcnoob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #3
    my macbook is 2.1 ghz core 2 duo, 120 HD , and 1GB RAM 
    im thinking of upgrading it to 2/4 gb of Ram but will it be slower than other comps cos its a server comp?
     
  4. gusious macrumors 65816

    gusious

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Location:
    Greece
    #4
    No i think upgrading Ram will make everything better! Try it and not from Apple! Do it yourself!
     
  5. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Eh... you sure about this???
    5000 clients connecting to one Mac, is heavy... if 5000 clients are connected simultaneously via AFP to your Mac, then your 1 GB of RAM is easily eaten up!

    Getting 4 GB isn't even enough. But the more RAM the better!!!
     
  6. jcnoob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #6
    not simultaneously. im saying all of them could log in using my mac. im saying that ther so many students account/database will it lag my mac
     

Share This Page