Questions about Macbook Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by nycmi, Aug 18, 2013.

1. nycmi macrumors member

Hi all,

I'm coming from a Macbook Pro 2.8ghz Core 2 Duo 2009. I like to do some light photoshop and illustrator. I'm currently studying a Bachelor of Audio Production so I'll be running a bunch of audio programs. I'm also learning coding in my free time.

I'm about to pull the trigger on a Macbook Air, though I need some advice on what model to get. Looking at 13 inch. Budget is $1600.

Thanks.

2. fark macrumors regular

Upgrade memory, SSD and CPU, in this order until you hit your budget.

3. magbarn macrumors 68000

Go with 8gb ram and 256gb ssd first which is the sweet spot. One of the reasons I sold my 2012 11" was the 128gb SSD, got tired of carrying external hard drives and constantly deleting files to make room. SSD's are also much slower when full. If you can afford it, throw in the i7 cpu which will nicely fit in the $1600 budget with the back to school program that Apple is running right now.

4. ZBoater macrumors G3

ZBoater

+1. Solid advice given the budget. You are really going to like the MBA... :D

5. hindmost macrumors regular

hindmost

6. mattferg macrumors 6502

I think if your budget is $1600, if you're happy with less battery life and the small increase in size, the rMBP might be a better fit for you. It'll run faster than the i7 Air, comes with 8GB a standard and has more thunderbolt ports to connect audio accessories. I'm a technical theatre student myself so I do some sound work along with design, but I use a PC for really intensive stuff because my Air is mostly just a portable machine :) It's up to what you're most happy doing really.

Otherwise, if you really want an Air, I'd go for the i7/8/256, it sounds like it'd fit your needs the best!

7. MBPr15, Aug 18, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2013

MBPr15 macrumors newbie

Tried a new air for a few days. Everything about it is great, but the display.