Questions about my new MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kh3khalid, Apr 14, 2013.

1. kh3khalid macrumors regular

Hi all

I finally received my 2.3, 15" cMBP (mid-2012) today. It's my first Mac.

So, I am new to Mac OS X and I've got some question about the hardware + the software:

1- What is the best method to clean the screen (Anti-glare)?

2- Most likely I'm going to buy two of these 8GB Crosair RAMs, but in the description it says that it's working on 1.35V, not 1.5V. So is it the same as mine? Will it work with no problems? Also, this RAM is only under 1 year warranty. What are the chances of it failing after the 1 year?

3- My MBP shipped with OSX 10.8.3, but in the store, Mountain Loin is not in the purchased section, and it shows me the option of buying it. Why is that? What if I replace my HDD for a SSD in the future? How will I be able to download ML again? Especially that the recovery assistant tool only created a Loin backup in my external thumb drive. So if I recover my OS from that drive, it'll install Loin.

4- When I added my hotmail account to the Mail app, it only imported Inbox folder. My other folders that I have organised are not showing. What is the problem?

5- Regarding the battery, I charged it to full when I first opened the machine, then used it to 80% and now it's plugged in and fully charged. Do I need to unplug the power cable if the battery is full? Or can I use it normally? What about when I'm sleeping? Do I keep it plugged in or not?

Thanks!

2. negativzero macrumors 6502

First, welcome to the world of Macs :)

1 - Static duster. Or alcohol wipes if there are fingerprints and oil stains.

2 - Yes they will work. But if you're afraid of failure after 1 year might I suggest taking another brand like Crucial instead with lifetime warranty.

3 - Mountain Lion is specifically linked with that MacBook exclusively.

4 - There is a tab for your hotmail folder below, have you clicked it to expand the outbox and other folders???