Questions about Parallel 6

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jusacruiser, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. jusacruiser macrumors 6502

    jusacruiser

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #1
    I have a couple of questions regarding Parallels 6

    First.....Does Parallel 6 include a version of windows in the software....or do I need to have my own copy of Windows??

    Second.....Is Parallel 6 any good? Please provide your opinion.

    Thanks! :confused:
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    1. No.
    2. Depends on your usage, therefore, what do you want to use it for?
     
  3. jusacruiser thread starter macrumors 6502

    jusacruiser

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #3
    Parallels 6


    1. When you say "No" do you mean Parallel 6 does not contain Windows? Do I need to buy my own separate windows software??

    2. What I want to use it for is to be able to install the 2007 MS Project Software and plus additional 2007 MS Project training materials that require windows software.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    1. You have to get a license separately.
    from http://www.parallels.com/uk/products/desktop/system-requirements/

    2. Parallels will be okay for that purpose, as will be VM Ware Fusion. Be sure to give the VM at least 2GB of RAM for proper performance.
     
  5. masterjames macrumors newbie

    masterjames

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    #5
    I have been using Parallels since it first came out. For me, I have found that RAM is the key to a good experience. Upgrade your Mac to 8GB RAM if you don't have that already. I have found that Windows and my Mac run too sluggish in less RAM (in my opinion). Then give about 3GB RAM to the Windows virtual machine.

    You must get your own version of Windows software to install in Parallels.

    I run Microsoft Office 2010, Publisher and Visual Studio Professional for software development in Parallels and all runs fine. I have been running Visual Studio since version 2003 without any problems. I currently use 2008 and 2010 to do C# and ASP.NET development just fine.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Parallels is the virtualization software allowing you run an OS inside of OSX. That being the case you need to supply your own copy of windows (or any other OS).

    I prefer vmware Fusion, as its a more stable product that has better support. Parallels is faster, if you're interested in playing games or other apps that use directx/opengl. I've used parallels before and like other people have had issues with BSODs in the guest OS, but also it produced Kernel panics. Moving over to Vmware, I've not gotten a single kernel panic and BSODs are non existent as well
     
  7. jusacruiser thread starter macrumors 6502

    jusacruiser

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #7
    Thank you!

    Thank you everybody for replying to my post regarding Parallels. A couple of people said they prefer Fusion, so I am going to look into that. :)
     
  8. charlien macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    #8
    I have used both and settled on Parallels. For me it was faster and networking worked better. Just my opinion. If you look around, you can find both pretty cheap. That way you can decide.
     
  9. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    I use Parallels and am happy with the software but not the company.

    First product to try is Oracle's VirtualBox (www.virtualbox.org). It's free and if it does the job there is no need to proceed further with looking at Parallels or Fusion.
     
  10. jusacruiser thread starter macrumors 6502

    jusacruiser

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Location:
    Atlanta, Georgia
    #10
    Parallels 6 versus Fusion

    A lot of good comments here. I appreciate all the input.

    I think the deciding factor for me will be which is the most user friendly?? Parallels or Fusion.

    Also.....we have a HP PC desktop. Am I allowed to take the windows CD that came with that computer and install it on my MBP?
     
  11. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #11
    Generally no - those are OEM versions, and will often refuse to install on anything other than the machine they came with. However... you can use Parallels Transporter to migrate that HP environment to Parallels, if you so desire. Parallels Transporter is a tool that comes with Parallels Desktop, and is used for migrating VMs in other formats to Parallels as well as migrating physical PCs.
     

Share This Page