Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MrMinor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 13, 2008
I am new to Mac and have a few questions about sleep mode.

1. When the MBP goes to sleep, do applications continue to run? Lets say I am importing photos into iPhoto, will that continue while in sleep or will it pause or something?

2. Will Time Machine continue to do backups in Sleep?

3. How much less juice will the system require when in sleep. I know this will vary and I am not looking for a specific number, but just a ballpark idea. If I am fully charged and put it to sleep will I get 5 hours or 5 days?

Hmm I had another question, but it seemed to slip my mind. I am sure I will it will come to me shortly though.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
1. When the MMP goes to sleep, do applications continue to run? Lets say I am importing photos into iPhoto, will that continue while in sleep or will it pause or something?
No: it's asleep. The CPU is powered down, disks powered off, network cards powered off, RAM potentially suspended to disk (not always)... Basically there is no activity at all.
2. Will Time Machine continue to do backups in Sleep?
No: nothing runs. At all
3. How much less juice will the system require when in sleep. I know this will vary and I am not looking for a specific number, but just a ballpark idea. If I am fully charged and put it to sleep will I get 5 hours or 5 days?
Not much. I'd expect a full charge to sleep for quite a few days, if not a week, before hitting zero (at which point it should suspend to disk with the last tiny bit of power so when you plug it in it is where you left it, but will take a little longer to wake up)...

MrMinor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 13, 2008
Thanks robbieduncan. So is there a point in even turning the computer off or should I just mainly use sleep?

gusious

macrumors 65816
Dec 2, 2007
Greece